RSS

A Glorious Arrival

17 Oct

Just about twenty minutes ago, I went downstairs to the front of my apartment building and spoke to the building manager.

“Did a package arrive for me?” I asked.

“Yeah,” she said with a weird expression.ย  “I don’t know what you ordered, but I think it went bad, it smells funny.”

“Yay!” I said, much to her dismay. She gave me the package, and it did smell. But where, to her, it smelled like badness, to me…it smelled like goodness.

You see the difference there.

Anyway I ran upstairs, which means that I am writing to you sweaty and out of breath, and I opened the package with the nearest sharp object, which was a knife, which slipped a little, because I was not too careful (my finger says hi, and he’s doing fine), and I opened the package.

This package was from Lori. Lori knows I have cats. We have discussed my cats many times.

Therefore, she was not ignorant of the fact when she filled the box full of packing peanuts which are hard to keep track of and which the cats adore. So I had to slow down, because it was like defusing a bomb. The cats were bonkers.

In the package were the results of a bet which Lori and I had back in May, a race, which was practically the First Great Tea Debacle, since it was a debacle and it involved tea. We raced. I won by a huge margin, she sent me tea just now.

So I now have:

1 tin of authentic Pure Ceylon Green Tea, grown in the mountains of (you guessed it) Ceylon. The container is covered in Indian writing. It’s that authentic.ย  225 grams of the stuff (what’s that in ounces? I have no idea. It’s from foreign, state code FN, that’s all I know.

1 Package of Kamal Tea Masala, which I have never had, which I don’t even know what it is, which I can’t wait to try. I am given the impression that is a flavor powder for my other teas, I will be fascinated to see if it does good things with otherwise undrinkable (to me) teas like Irish breakfast, or Yorkshire Gold.

1 Package of Lasa Special Dust Tea. Again, I have no idea. This is all new territory in the exciting world of tea for me. The impression I get from the back of the package is that it’s Assam based, which I have had before, although I happily expect this to taste nothing like the assam teas I’ve had.

(Some of the powder leaked in transit, so the package smelled like yummy tea, which my landlady thought was weird)

Also, Lori sent me a coffee mug.

It says Note To Self: STOP volunteering for stuff.

Which is really a hoot, coming from her. Obviously it didn’t do her any good, which must be why she sent it to me.

I’d talk more, but I have to go make a pot of tea! (Which is my third pot today! Whoohoo! I haven’t blinked in, like, six hours, ha ha!)

 
18 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2007 in tea

 

18 responses to “A Glorious Arrival

  1. MidnightMuse

    October 17, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    Oh my, those all sound so yummy and exotic – I can’t wait to win THIS Tea Debacle and get a taste of some interesting, new teas. (tho I might have to send Pete’s cats some catnip tea, just to keep them on his toes)

     
  2. Pete Tzinski

    October 17, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    You’re going to do WHAT with this Tea Debacle?

    *adjusts glasses* Win?

    *does not laugh*

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHHAHAHAHA

    Sorry.

    I’m sure you’ll do really great!

     
  3. Pete Tzinski

    October 17, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    Agpghpghp.

    I just opened the package of tea flavoring dust and, being dust, some plumed out and I inhaled and….agpthh….my eyes are now red and watering and my nose won’t stop running. That was sort of like snorting cayenne pepper, or creole salt. Agghgh.

    And my eyes didn’t turn the cool shade of blue that they would have if this were Dune.

     
  4. MidnightMuse

    October 17, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    *note to Lori* GOOD JOB !!!

    ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  5. MidnightMuse

    October 17, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    *note to Lori* GOOD JOB !!!

    ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  6. sanremoave

    October 17, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    *note to self* Tea can be dangerous

     
  7. kimmirich

    October 17, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    Ohh, yum! Tea the nourishment of my writing! A toast to a good day!
    hugs
    kimmi

     
  8. Soccer Mom

    October 17, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    *note to Muse* remind me to pay Lori the fiver I owe her for slipping in the Cayenne.

     
  9. Lori

    October 17, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    I’ll take that five bucks any time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    This is the thing, back when I lost (which I’m not going to do again), I told Pete that I would pay off the bet in Persian tea, which I own, but you know, what I have is mine. So I couldn’t use it. The only place I know to get Persian tea is at the Persian grocery in Chicago-proper, which necessitates a trip to, well, Chicago, which is a goodly distance away. It’s measured in hours, if you’re measuring distance by time, that is.

    This wasn’t that big of a deal, because I was planning to visit my friend Geoff, who lives in the Chicago suburbs, in June and we were going to go to the Art Museum, which is in Chicago. Only, that trip got canceled. Instead, I ended up visiting him in September and we went to the zoo, which is not in Chicago. So, instead, Geoff took me across the street from his apartment, to the little Indian grocery there, and I bought Pete tea. I’ve had real-goodness Indian tea before, but I’ve never bought it for myself, so I’m hoping Pete enjoys it. The flavoring just looked like something he might like and the mug, which OBVIOUSLY DID NO GOOD WHATSOEVER, was just something I had around the house.

    When I don’t lose the next bet, the tea I supply won’t be as exotic, but will come from the local teahouse.

     
  10. Soccer Mom

    October 17, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    I’m thinking the mug was a tad bit tardy. This was already out of control before he got the mug.

     
  11. Pete Tzinski

    October 17, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    Sigh. No, I was holding the mug and drinking interesting Indian tea out of it at exactly the point when it was DOING NO GOOD WHATSOEVER.

    The first tea I tried is really fascinating. It is strong and black but, instead of getting bitter at the “back” of the taste (if you see what I mean), it has a hint of sweetness, which makes it enjoyably drinkable. Without that, it would fall with the Irish Breakfast, which I find undrinkable.

    I haven’t tried the pure Ceylon or the tea flavoring yet. That’s tomorrow. Because I have had WAY too many pots of tea today.

     
  12. lbasie

    October 18, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Pete, I found something resembling a recipe for using the masala.

     
  13. Pete Tzinski

    October 18, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    You made your text clickable, except nothing happens when you click. Way to occupy my time endlessly trying to click on it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

     
  14. Lori

    October 19, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Oh, whimper. I don’t know why nothing’s happening. It’s at http://www.wawasworld.blogspot.com.

     
  15. Pete Tzinski

    October 19, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    That doesn’t work either. You’re not very good with computers.

     
  16. Lori

    October 19, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    It works fine for me. I think the problem is with you, but you, know, the entire addy is typed out there you could, I don’t know, type it into the browser yourself?

     
  17. Pete Tzinski

    October 19, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    No, too much work. That’s exhausting. I’m saving myself for the Tea Debacle. Someone will just have to come open the page for me.

     
  18. Pete Tzinski

    October 19, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    (it’s because there’s a period at the end which is becoming part of the hyperlink. Easily corrected. And, anticlimatically, you showed me that link through PM, the other night, when we were plotting the sabotage of the other competitors, remember?)

     

Leave a Reply

 
