RSS

Tea Debacle Cutoff

21 Oct

UPDATE: sign up is now closed.

Okay, Official Announcement
The official cut-off limit for this thing is 15 people. That leaves a few more open slots, if anyone wants in.

This started as just a goofy thing between a couple of friends in the blog-o-sphere (and I should point out, this is not AW sponsored at all) and it’s swollen fast. I dig it, it’s cool and fun, but…

…it’s also the first time we’ve done this, and there are tricky background details that we have to figure out. So we have to keep it small.

BUT…

We are working out a way to do this every six months. Partially because I like the idea of every six months getting to spend a month intensely writing a novel. So even when the limit is reached this time, it’ll be around again.

15 people!

*goes away to whimper in a corner a bit*

If you want in, announce it in the comments of the page. I also need an e-mail, or a PM, answering the basic questions that have already been answered. Also, I would really like everyone to put up something — big or little — for the pot. Let me know, in the comments, in e-mail, in PM, wherever.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

13 responses to “Tea Debacle Cutoff

  1. mscelina

    October 21, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    chicken. *grin*

    I really was starting a posturing thread and it got (QUICKLY) to a place it didn’t need to go. Dang.

    Up my prize amount to 75 bucks. That can be my penance.

     
  2. carrieinpa

    October 21, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    What is our official number thus far?

     
  3. Pete Tzinski

    October 21, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    In penance, you need to give me a 1975 signed first edition of Stephen King’s “The Shining” (averages about 2,000 bucks). :p

     
  4. Pete Tzinski

    October 21, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    I’m not entirely sure, Carrie. Suddenly, I need the people competing to sound off. I think we’re at even ten, or maybe eleven.

     
  5. mscelina

    October 21, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    sorry, pete, don’t have one of those. I also don’t have the 1931 1st/1st American edition of “Rebecca” by Daphne du maurier with dust jacket–worth about 5000 bucks–because I already shipped it off to a collector in the UK. I do have some lovely Carl Sandburg and a few smatterings of Victorian era lit and poetry.

    Forgot to mention: One of the options will be the full Norton two-volume set of literature OR The Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature OR a compilation of research material that I ‘just happen to have’ dealing with historial eras from the Tudors on.

    In case someone likes source material better than a book that’s too darn valuable to read.

     
  6. Pete Tzinski

    October 21, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    ….Now I’m drooling AND undecided….

     
  7. mscelina

    October 21, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    of course you are. *grin* it would cost me fifty bucks just to MAIL either one of them.

     
  8. MidnightMuse

    October 21, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    I don’t know why Pete’s drooling, it’s not like he’s going to win.

     
  9. Lori

    October 21, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    I have an 1898 Rand McNally Atlas worth about $25 that no one’s going to get. It’s actually quite fascinating to look at, especially when they start categorizing the different “races” of Africa.

     
  10. Lori

    October 21, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    And, no, I’m not offering my Atlas up as a prize. Never, ever.

     
  11. carrieinpa

    October 21, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    I have a 2004ish globe I could chip in, but the shipping would be a pain in the ass. 😀

    The neatest book I have is an old family Bible from the late 1800’s. It has a ton of birth records, back 7 generations, then stopping with my great-grandfather.

     
  12. Soccer Mom

    October 21, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    I have some antique law books that I could never be persuaded to part with. They were gifts to me by an elderly gentleman who studied law (in the 1930’s). He was in his 90’s and in poor health and just wanted them to have a good hom.

    Those are probably my favorite old books.

     
  13. MidnightMuse

    October 21, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    I’m sticking with Tea. Glorious Tea. Of course, I’m not going to have to send anyone anything, so that’s moot. 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
