RSS

Sigh

26 Oct

Occasionally, I am sent awe-struck e-mails from people who have been rendered speechless by my abilities as a writer. They tentatively approach me to ask delicate questions, as if I am some magical font of information which will be of service to them in life. They assume that I am there with Buddha and Stephen King and Neil Gaiman and so on, and I accept it graciously.

This post is to remind all of you that I am human.

Today is my wife’s birthday. I remembered. I’m very proud of this. “dates” as technically made up of “Numbers,” which are things that do not stay in my head very long at all.

But I remembered. So I went online to St. Cloud Flower Shop.com and I placed an order for a beautiful birthday bouquet of flowers, to be sent to my wife at work. I was very pleased. I kept my cell phone handy so I could coyly pretend I didn’t know what the flowers were there for, and then say “Happy Birthday, I love you,” and be the Good Husband.

I got a call.

So I answer the phone, and it’s my wife, laughing, and my heart lifts. It worked!

“Did you try to order flowers?” She asks me.

“Yes. No. I have the right to deny it,” I said. “What do you mean try?”

“You ordered them in St. Cloud, Florida. And the phone number you gave her was the phone number we canceled two months ago, remember? So she called me.”

“I…um…oh. Damn it.”

So there you have it. I am human after all.

I’m going to go hide in the closet, or something.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “Sigh

  1. MidnightMuse

    October 26, 2007 at 11:21 am

    HA! ROFL! Oh stop it – STOP it ! I’m gonna pee!!! 😀

    oh, you messed up the flowers, too? *snicker*

    (font of information) Yep, I peed a little.

     
  2. Pete Tzinski

    October 26, 2007 at 11:24 am

    My font of information is, on closer inspection, Times New Roman. So you all know.

    Fortunately, I have a kind and loving wife, who probably enjoyed me goofing up the flowers more than coming home to realize that I used our credit card to pay for them. So instead, we’ll go out to dinner tonight which, because I will be accompanied by an adult, will probably wind up in a restaurant here in St. Cloud, Minnesota.

    When people make jokes about space-headed authors, this is why I just look the other way. It’s a miracle I haven’t left Zach somewhere yet… 🙂

    Thank you for your sympathy, Kristine, I feel SO much better.

     
  3. Melissa (sanremoave)

    October 26, 2007 at 11:37 am

    Aw. That’s actually the makings for a really sweet memory. Because you didn’t forget, just got a few details off.

    When I was a newlywed, my husband decided to send a singing telegram. To my brand new place of employment. Where they barely even knew me much less that it was my birthday.

    You see, he forgot that I hate getting my picture taken, speaking in public and I especially hate being the center of attention. Nope, he thought it was funny to send a moth eaten gorilla to sing to me. In front of a bunch of strangers.

    Today I’d have shrugged it off. I was nineteen at the time and very insecure. That is not a fond memory for either one of us.

    You’ve got a simple aw shucks moment. Enjoy it. Coulda been worse; just sayin’. 😉

     
  4. tjwriter

    October 26, 2007 at 11:40 am

    Oh, Pete! That’s funny and cute at the same time. I’m sure you’re wife knows that you love her.

    I was re-reading some of my handwritten work on QoL, and I realized that one of the secondary characters does indeed remind of you after a fashion. Made me laugh a little. On the inside, ‘cuz laughing out loud in your cube is odd and all.

     
  5. Pete Tzinski

    October 26, 2007 at 11:43 am

    I looking for singing telegrams. It would have have been awesome. But there wasn’t one. Alas.

    A moth-eaten Gorilla. That sounds hilarious!

    I’m doing good. I’ve remembered, this year, 1) Our fourth wedding anniversary 2) Her birthday.

    Yay!

    That means if she forgets my birthday (DECEMBER 12TH IF YOU WERE WONDERING), I can give her grief.(NO, YOU DON’T HAVE TO GET ME ANYTHING BESIDES THE POT FROM THE TEA DEBACLE, THANKS!)

     
  6. Pete Tzinski

    October 26, 2007 at 11:44 am

    I always get nervous when someone says they have a character, or a brother, or a vetrinary doctor, Or “had an affair with” (yes, it’s true) someone who reminds them of me. I always hope it’s a good thing.

     
  7. MidnightMuse

    October 26, 2007 at 11:57 am

    Secondary character = dude who wears a moth-eaten gorilla suit and sings? 😀

     
  8. Arachne Jericho

    October 26, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    You did OK, Pete. I had a friend who totally forgot his wife’s birthday. That was MUCH worse.

    The main character in my first NaNo novel may at one point have been named Peter, but he could easly have once been named Paul, or even Preston (though he dreads the thought that it really was Preston). Maybe I will make it Pete just because.

     
  9. Cath

    October 26, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    It’s always reassuring to know there’s someone even more absent minded than I am.

    **makes note to show this blog entry to her husband**

     
  10. carrieinpa

    October 26, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    *snerk*

     
  11. Pete Tzinski

    October 27, 2007 at 11:20 am

    It seems to have worked, in terms of cuteness and endearingness, AND it saved me money. Husbands, take note! You don’t actually have to get anyone anything!

     
  12. Rllgthunder

    October 29, 2007 at 5:29 am

    Pete, you bring new meaning to the words ‘Hopeless Romantic’.

     

Leave a Reply

 
