RSS

Almost Gone, Daddy, Gone

07 Nov

Before I vanish, I wanted to offer up this interesting piece from a biographical page on Anthony Trollope (one of my writing heroes, for his volume and ability, if not for his books, some of which I find unfathomable). It is as follows.

Trollope regularly produced 1000 words an hour before breakfast – his page contained 250 words. “Perhaps the main characteristic of writers like Jane Austen and Trollope is their complete non-literariness”, noted Ford Madox Ford in The March of Literature (1938). “Indeed, you would say that they are without the passion to write that distinguishes a Balzac, a Dickens, a Thackeray or even a genuine artist like Gautier.” Trollope spent three productive hours a day at his desk, before a quire of paper, pen in hand. “I always began my task by reading the work of the day before,” he wrote in An Autobiography (1883). “I would strongly recommend this practice to all tyros in writing”. Rewriting Trollope considered “a waste of time.” In the evening he enjoyed playing whist at the Garrick Club.

I’m really gone after this, but I wanted to offer up this link, which is baffling and scary and…really interesting. Can you imagine reading a 900 page Anthony Trollope book on your cell phone? No? Someone did. I’m fascinated.

 
29 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

29 responses to “Almost Gone, Daddy, Gone

  1. Pete Tzinski

    November 7, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    I guess it makes sense. It’s fascinating. I love the idea of having a bunch of H.G. Wells, and Verne, and Burroughs books on my little mini-SD card. I could put a whole bunch of them on there. At least, if I can get my cell phone to sync up with my computer *grumblegrumble*

     
  2. Arachne Jericho

    November 7, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    Doesn’t surprise me. War and Peace is being read over cell phones. (Or Twitter.)

     
  3. MidnightMuse

    November 7, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    I can’t even read the label on a bottle of aspirin without those drug store glasses! I’d never manage to read a comic, let alone a book on my cell phone.

    Kewl idea for younger eyes, I suppose!

     
  4. Pete Tzinski

    November 7, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    The only use I can think for it is, if I’m standing in line somewhere unexpectedly, or sitting in the car while my wife’s five minute trip into her workplace turns into a much, much longer excursion.

    Then again, I usually use those odd moments to write on odd surfaces.

    Then again again, I wouldn’t mind reading some of the classics I haven’t previously read.

    If ever my cell phone works, I’ll let somebody know how useful these are. They’re free, so the worst they can do is really suck… 🙂

     
  5. tjwriter

    November 7, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    Arachne, you need to set your computer’s clock back about 4 minutes or something. People keep posting to your responses, but they are showing up on my page before the response they are responding to. It’s confusing. I think it’s your system clock, but I’m not sure how wordpress works.

     
  6. Pete Tzinski

    November 7, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    It might be WordPress. A minor glitch, instead of the major “Erasing the Debacle page” we had yesterday. *grumble* One day, CPD will have its own domain name and server space, then this won’t be a problem.

     
  7. tjwriter

    November 7, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    I wondered about that.

    But then, on this computer, if I click into one of the blogs on the blogroll, it won’t update until I refresh the page. I just came back a few minutes later and it was all better.

     
  8. Pete Tzinski

    November 7, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    Thank goodness we have computers making our lives easier. I never had this problem with postage and letters.

    *runs away before AJ can strike me about the head and shoulders*

     
  9. MidnightMuse

    November 7, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    Hey Pete, I’ve just found the most wonderous web site to retrain the handwriter in all of us 😀

    There’s even a photo of how I hold my pen. I feel giddy.

     
  10. tjwriter

    November 7, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Well, dang, Kristine. Just leave us hanging.

     
  11. MidnightMuse

    November 7, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Yes, thou shalt hangeth until I blog this evening 😀

     
  12. Pete Tzinski

    November 7, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    That is just SO typical of her. *sniffle*

     
  13. Pete Tzinski

    November 7, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    I don’t suppose anyone knows how many gallons of water a 4-6-0 Locomotive can hold? Hmph.

     
  14. Arachne Jericho

    November 7, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    Well, I live and work with computers, so I am used to their suckage and do not mind it as much. 😉

    And I hope WordPress is not relying on my machine to give it that time. That’s something on the server side, since time zones are such fickle things. (Do not ask me about internationalization and dealing with countries with timezones that are 35 minutes off the hour.)

     
  15. Arachne Jericho

    November 7, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    (And don’t ask about the post in Canada. I swear, they need to have a badly functioning time machine in there a la _Going Postal_ to wreck the havoc that they do.)

     
  16. Pete Tzinski

    November 7, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    Even if they don’t have the machine with it’s rounded-off Pi, they MUST be run by someone named Mister Groat, you ask me.

     
  17. Arachne Jericho

    November 7, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    *snerk*

     
  18. tjwriter

    November 7, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    lol. You people are nuts.

     
  19. MidnightMuse

    November 7, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Well I have an entire thesis on time travel, but with the exchange rate, Canadian time machines are usually 3/4 of a week behind.

     
  20. tjwriter

    November 7, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    I now have a cleaned off and pretty desk. Weeeeee!

     
  21. Pete Tzinski

    November 7, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    Tori set fire to her papers!

     
  22. tjwriter

    November 7, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Maybe.

    Maybe not.

    🙂

     
  23. Shadow Ferret

    November 7, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Well, I will say that one of my writer heroes is Walter Gibson, the guy who penned The Shadow novels during the pulp era. He started out monthly. It became so popular they went to twice monthly and soon once a week. The man was writing a novel for publication every week!

    I wish I had the kind of energy and dedication.

     
  24. Soccer Mom

    November 7, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    My desk is the one clean and organized place in my home. Nothing is on it except for computer, outline, coffee and a Symphony bar.

     
  25. Pete Tzinski

    November 7, 2007 at 7:20 pm

    Walter Gibson was stunning. He was fearless. Those were such brilliant novels.

    MY desk…is a small TV dinner table, because my office was unfortunately occupied with boxes and stuff when Zach was born and is no more. (Awwww….). But I think I might be getting it back soon, soon.

     
  26. tjwriter

    November 7, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    My desk at home is a train wreck. So I make do, and for the last couple of months, about every other week, I clean out mass amounts of crap.

    I have my eye on a very lovely workgroup set. It’s just under $1,000 after shipping. I’ll be saving for awhile.

     
  27. MidnightMuse

    November 7, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    I’m jealous. My “desk” at home is my lap, sometimes the coffee table, but leaning forward like that from the couch isn’t comfortable at all. We’re turning our dining room into a sitting room, but haven’t found the perfect chairs yet.

    I write at work a lot, though, and that desk is – – well, it’s work.

     
  28. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 3:07 am

    I have a laptop in every room and a distributed file server.

    Desk? Who needz desk?

     
  29. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 8:18 am

    I write on my laptop, but sometimes it’s nice to put it on a desk and hunch over it and pound away. Although the colder it gets in here, the more I appreciate a warm laptop sitting on my lap. (And I’ll put my feet on the little transformer box, because it warms them.)

     

Leave a Reply

 
