RSS

Handwriting, mostly

08 Nov

Been happily writing all morning. Well, that’s a lie, I only spent an hour writing. The rest of the time went to making the house look like a house, since it gets messy when I only write.

Anyway, over on Kristine’s blog, she’s discussing handwriting, re-learning it, and she posts a link to a fascinating web-site which discusses handwriting and proper postures. As I said over there, I’m happy to note that my handwriting and posture falls into all the good levels. That’s nice. For one thing, I never did any reading, I just worked and adjusted until I’d found a posture which had no pain and which let me get work done. (It took me ages. And it hurt as I went.)

In the comments of that same post,Β  the conversation swung ’round to abbreviating words when writing, and I discussed how I used to slur them. I didn’t explain myself well and thought I would post an example. Unfortunately, since many of those pages were all but unreadable, I no longer have them. But I did find a page of notes from about five years ago, and I took a photo of it and put it online.

Β You can look at it here. 2002. This was well before I started making a concentrated effort to regain my handwriting, to be able to not only handwrite legibly, but also to get a decent number of words per page, and a decent story.

One problem I always had was, I would handwrite a chunk of story and then type up a bunch of pages, only to find out that I was doing about 100 words per page. It was depressing, to type up six pages and find out you hadn’t even written a thousand words. Add to that, the fact that it took me a lot of time to write those six pages. Add to that the fact that the story sounded stiff and awkward upon reviewing, because I was too self-aware while handwriting. I wasn’t used to this, I didn’t know how to work through it. The actual process of handwriting was a delight, but everything which resulted from it was miserable.

You can see, as you read down the page, the way my handwriting changes within one page. As my hand started to hurt and jerk, some of the letters get sharp and weird, the words start to stretch out, I make mistakes, my handwriting is generally abysmal. This isn’t even the worst of it. It’s just what I could find. I know there are pages around here which are really, really atrocious.

Now, after lots of hard, hard work and time put into it, I can write prose I am happy with by hand. I write fast. I generally write 270-300 words per page, although as I get tired, it dips down to 250 a page (still just fine by me).

This is what my handwriting looks like now. This page is from last week, sometime. The only caveat I’ll offer for it is, I was writing with my knees up and a notebook on my lap, a not always comfortable position when you’re left handed, partially because it forces me to use some of my wrist muscles again. This isn’t my tightest page, but I think you can see the difference.

The prose on that page went straight into the novel, and I didn’t wince at any of it. It works as well as anything I wrote on the computer, and I am happy with it. Moreover, I can set that notebook down on the desk and read from it easily for transcribing. And where the first sample probably took me twenty minutes to write, the second sample probably took me five. Is that seems unlikely, it’s not. The first sample was awkward, and it used my wrist, and it used parts of my brain I didn’t know what to do with. The second sample is years of work later. It starts to hurt, but I can do twelve pages or so in an hour or so, if I’m really focused. If I do twelve pages a day, each like that second sample, then in a month I can do about 99,000 words, give or take a few.

So there. I dont’ know if that helps or clarifies anything in the slightest. I toyed with video-taping myself writing, to see if the motion of my shoulder and arm would be more visible than the motion of my wrist…but it occurs to me that thinking about it will probably screw the whole process up. So I may have to wait on that.

 
53 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

53 responses to “Handwriting, mostly

  1. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 11:21 am

    I’m trying to comprehend how one uses the arm and shoulder to write – so far I’m doing those writing-in-the-air excercises to see if I can get an idea and a feel for it. I’m angry that — in fourth grade, when my penmanship was clearly not going to improve, they made me take these therapy classes daily after school, designed to improve my legibility. Those jerks TAUGHT me to use only my hand.

     
  2. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 11:25 am

    Pretty much. Legibility doesn’t improve instantly when you start using your arm and shoulder, but it CAN begin to improve as time goes on. It gets smoother, for one thing. It especially helps if you know cursive of some sort (and I no longer do, in any usable way).

     
  3. tjwriter

    November 8, 2007 at 11:31 am

    I guess because I’ve always like writing things down, I’ve never really lost the ability.

    My brain functions on a totally different level when I write things down, and I tend to remember them better so I make a lot of lists. Keeps me writing. I don’t even find it too much of a problem to switch to novel writing. I enjoy it.

     
  4. Soccer Mom

    November 8, 2007 at 11:35 am

    It’s interesting that I seem to be in the minority on using symbols in my writing. Honestly, I’ve done it for so long that I’m not sure I can change and again not sure that I want to.

    But this may be just what I need today. Today my writing sucks. Nothing flows. Scenes are painful. I probably have less than 1,000 words written.

    I’m gonna log off and try pen to paper and see if that unlocks my brain. If that doesn’t work, I’ll administer chocolate.

     
  5. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 11:36 am

    Some people don’t, and I’m envious of them. I don’t have any problems anymore, but lord knows I did.

    The brain DOES function on a different level. I don’t know if that’s scientifically proven, and I don’t care. I know that parts of my brain unlock when I’m handwriting (whether I’m writing notes or writing fiction) and I can be writing Scene 1 while my brain is figuring out scenes 4, 5,6,7. It’s damned useful. I also keep my enthusiasm up, and I don’t get distracted nearly so often. Handwriting can be a very good thing, for the novelist.

    (aaahhh, this is where I start preaching again, isn’t it)

    I find I remember things better when handwriting too. WHen I write notes for stories, it’s not with any intention of ever reading them again; it’s because during the process of note-writing, my brain is figuring things out and retaining them.

     
  6. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 11:55 am

    I’ve always loved making lists. If I write things down and then forget to bring my list with me, I find I can at least remember the act of writing the things down, and end up remember what I wrote down. I’m sure it uses different parts of the brain. Any time you’re combining a physical act with serious contemplation, you work your mind differently than if you’re simply sitting down thinking.

    So it stands to reason that the mere act of holding a pen and basically drawing words, which in itself uses a different section of the brain, would cause you to “think” differently while handwriting. You’re combining the physically artistic section with the analytically creative section.

    Typing is more mechanical, less artistic, so your brain is doing all the creative work. Handwriting forces a synchronious blend of the two. Hey, it sounds cool, anyway πŸ˜€

     
  7. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 11:59 am

    It makes good sense to me, anyway. Given that that’s how it works in practice, I see nothing wrong with that explanation. πŸ™‚

     
  8. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    I agree that handwriting engages different parts of the brain. I question it being more or less artistic than writing, unless you’re striving for calligraphy.

    For me, the only handwriting that I do is on index cards for outline notes. For all that I print, I write quickly in that mode.

    Outline notes: yes, I use symbols when handwriting all the time, because I want to think about the plot, not about the names, which I don’t always have at that point. I even use them when I type up informal outlines/spreadsheets.

    As for second run is much, much faster: well, yes. It’s part of the principle that drives my breakneck pace.

    Probably will write a blog entry on it, since I’m currently in writer’s block mode.

     
  9. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    So let me ask everyone, are you “printing” or using “cursive” ? I’ve been printing for years now because my handwriting would make my cursive look absolutely unreadable. But now I’m wondering if I should try and go back to that, thinking that flow you get from keeping your pen on the paper without lifting is the answer to proper handwriting. It’s really hard for me to use cursive and make it readable, I have to go abysmally slow and get frustrated.

    If I can retrain and get stronger, and still PRINT, I’d be a happy person.

     
  10. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    The first “writing” should be “typing”. Heh. I think of typing as writing these days.

     
  11. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    Cursive is like stream of consciousness to me. Printing makes me think more analytically. Which is probably why I use it for my little plot cards, apart from the readability.

     
  12. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    I technically print, as you can see from my posted pages, but a lot of the letters connect, so it’s something akin to cursive. I’m not sure that cursive is good, or bad, for handwriting. I think there are probably pages which talk about that.

    AJ, you’re hopeless. Go away. πŸ˜‰

    (of course I’m kidding, stay put)

     
  13. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Did you hear, Pete, she said she’s got “writer’s block” what a shame *snicker* what a cryin shame *sound of two hands clapping* πŸ˜€

     
  14. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    What’s writer’s block, Kristine? I’ve never heard of it. I sure hope *WE* don’t get it!

     
  15. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Nah, I only get writer’s cat, and you get writer’s infant.

     
  16. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    Hee hee hee. πŸ™‚

    Really, I don’t understand, or maybe I kind of do. Or maybe I don’t at all.

    I have a question for you all, therefore: what feels more natural, more like writing: handwriting or typing? Where writing, to me, is the abstract notion of producing and committing words to some representation outside of your head.

    When I handwrite, I am very conscious of my efforts. This often gets in the way. Perhaps it helps others; it certainly does not help me.

    But when I type, I am barely conscious that I’m typing. I think of it as writing; handwriting I think of as handwriting. I touch type very quickly, and indeed I spend most of my time typing blind, because a vertical split keyboard doesn’t let you see the keys. It’s like a direct interface between me and the words, and everything flows. Like dancing on quicksilver.

    Maybe that’s detrimental, and mayhaps it means I will always need a rewrite. But it barely matters to me. My rewrites are always full ones anyways—I don’t do any of that deleting/replacing stuff.

    Maybe typing works well for me because I treat it like a mostly write-forward-only medium. If you start backtracking and obsessively deleting and replacing stuff, then I can see it getting in the way.

    That said, I do backtrack for plot holes, and instead of adding a sticky note, I just insert more words. And sometimes the sentence I’m currently writing doesn’t work well, and I get to try multiple options before picking the one that works, with nary a break in my pace.

    :ponders:

    Well, there goes my blog entry πŸ˜€

     
  17. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    Have some writer’s block poetry and other things, then:

    http://www.arachnejericho.com/search/label/writer%27s%20block

    An’ yes, my writing mood IS perfectly captured by that little Holmes picture when he’s trying to kill that damn snake. He’s a bit a la Indiana Jones: Snakes! Why did it have to be snakes! DIE!

     
  18. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    The thing is, when I talk about writers who need to revitalize their handwriting skills and begin to work that way more…I’m not talking about you. And you’ve just explained specifically why. When you write on the computer, you write fast and without hesitation. “A direct link,” is how you put it, and that’s absolutely right.

    What the hell would you need handwriting for? You are unhesitating (until you got writer’s block, ner, ner, ner) and you do your fastest and most confident work on the computer. That’s good enough by me.

    But there are writers who do less well on computers. What got me into talking about this in the first place was the occasional young writer on AW who was struggling with writer’s block, who would write 1,000 words and get stuck or give up. And they were absolutely powerless to do anything but sit at the computer and fiddle with keys. And that always bothered me.

    When you write on the computer, you are writing. Your earlier typo goes to show that. And when you’re handwriting, you’re ‘handwriting.’

    For me, if I handwrite, I can write eight hours a day and stop only for a few minutes, now and then, to stretch my fingers or get a drink. Then I can sit back down and keep going. I cannot be distracted, slowed, or stopped. I do not hesitate, I do not get writer’s block (well, I don’t anyway, but never mind). I am confident and pleased with what I write.

    Now, when I write on computers…well, at this point, it’s the same thing. I almost entirely touch type (I only glance down, now and then, to see where my fingers are before starting.) A lot of the time, I put a keyboard on my lap, set the laptop down next to me, and write like that. I type, when I’m flowing properly, around 100 words per minute.

    It took work, though, and for me, handwriting was a big part of it. Handwriting unlocked parts of my brain — the parts Kristine so nicely described above — and because I have worked with handwriting for so long, those parts stay unlocked.

    As I get older, I do find that there are times I’m just too tired to write on the computer. My brain isn’t moving fast enough. I think it’s just me. But no matter how tired, or sick, I may be, I can always write by hand.

    A lot of it, for me, is just paranoia. I am very uncomfortable with the idea of being ‘chained to the computer,’ to use a melodramatic phrase. The term which I always use when looking at my life is — if society crashed tomorrow and I Had to eke out an existence, would I be able to? A silly question, but it is what caused me to stop drinking Mountain Dew (“I get splitting headaches if I don’t drink Mountain Dew. It is an addiction. I would not survive without it. So I must learn to.) And it’s what got me handwriting. (“There is no electricity tomorrow, and I can’t write, because I hate how my fiction sounds when I write by hand. So I must learn to.”)

    It’s probably some neurological problem or something, who knows. I don’t care. As the years go by, I’d made sure that I can continue to write with nearly any method I’ve come across. I’m proud of that.

     
  19. tjwriter

    November 8, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    Re: The print or cursive thing.

    I use prinsive. Get it? prin(t) + (cur)sive

    My handwriting is a jumbled mess of the two, but it’s highly effective. I tend to make cursive the letter that flow well together, but print those that don’t. However, it seems totally random which way I will write a particular letter on any given day. Maybe it’s not, but I haven’t studied to it see.

     
  20. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    I can write on the computer well enough, but it frustrates me some times. I’ll be in the mood for writing, but NOT in the mood to turn on this machine. Or the cat who just walked over the keyboard and closed down my browser mid-sentence will really get too frustrating. Or I find myself somewhere, like a mechanic shop waiting room, wanting to write but NOT wanting to bring the laptop with me.

    Or in the case of this weekend – I’ll be sitting at an art show, with down time in spurts, and no computer. I need to reclaim the ability to write whenever and wherever the mood strikes me. And keep in mind, at my age, I didn’t even start using a PC until I was in my *tries to mumble it* early 30’s. I’m (okay, just admit it) 44 right now, and while I can type 98 wpm when I’m in the zone, I still miss notebooks and pens.

    I miss being able to flip open a spiral notebook at any given time to jot down a paragraph or three, then closing it up when I have to move on. You can’t even turn ON these laptops in under 3 minutes, with all the programs and security measures. And there are days when I just can’t look at the lit screen for one more minute, having spent an 8 hour work day doing just that.

    Sometimes, for me, speed is the enemy. I get caught up in my own typing ability and start to flip out if I have to pause and consider the plot. I’m naturally impatient, too, so that’s an issue.

    I’ll never stop using the PC to compose my fiction – I just want to reclaim handwriting so it will add to and empower my writing, sharpen my writer’s brain, and give me something to do when the EMP blast wipes out all of our electricity and the aliens are still a few days out πŸ˜€

     
  21. Lori

    November 8, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    I have a question for you all, therefore: what feels more natural, more like writing: handwriting or typing? Where writing, to me, is the abstract notion of producing and committing words to some representation outside of your head.

    Both.

    Although I’m primarily a computer writer, Arachne, you might want to try opening a notebook and writing if you’re blocked. It does use a different part of the brain and allows you to see the story in a different way. Sometimes, it’s enough to work through whatever’s stopped you. As soon as you’re flowing again, go back to the computer.

     
  22. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    :claps at post:

    Yes, totally agree about the stuck young writers. If they are stuck, they need to do something different. Whether that’s writing blog entries or writing a short story on the fly or sitting down and handwriting, you need to change the wiring for a little bit. Otherwise you just stick in the rut.

    Handwriting changes the wiring the most, short of creating LOLcats or YouTube movies. πŸ™‚

    For me, I create spreadsheets. Mmmm. Nummy.

    As for technology going boom one day… I admit I’m tied to technology pretty tightly, and if civilization goes, I’d probably go as well. I just get sick too easily.

    I understand the desire to not get tied down to teh techz. I had that for a long, long time. Of course, I had it to extremes, so it probably doesn’t count as much. Think Church of Scientology mixed with liberal amounts of Amish.

     
  23. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    Lori,

    Yup, I know about the handwrite/change wiring/etc tactic. ‘Tis always good advice.

    I need to just stop writing for a while, I think.

    Also, I shower to get rid of writer’s block.

    :off to do that now:

     
  24. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    while I quietly plan for myself to be able to get by without technology — mostly because I find it makes my life more pleasant — I am really, really leery of the actual term ‘luddite,’ because those people are NUTS. People who are stridently anti-technology? Oh man. I’ve talked about this before, but I’m always paranoid of sounding like a luddite. Hello? Do these people know what medicine was like two hundred years ago? NO THANK YOU.

    If I’m preaching (and I fear that I probably am), I’m preaching the moderation of technology. The use of the best technology gives us, without becoming tied or chained or hampered in any way by it. I am the same way about cars. When I become aware that I would rather try to find someone to give me a ride somewhere rather than walk…I walk. It’s nice to get places quickly and out of the elements, but I still cherish my ability to get anywhere I want on foot, no matter the weather, without difficulty.

    Computers were a late entry into my life too. I’m younger than Kristine (who is very brave to admit her age), but I didn’t live in places where computers were viable. The fanciest piece of technology I had when I was a lot younger was an electric typewriter my mom used for work. Even that, I wasn’t allowed to use much. It was handwriting first, then computers. And it was computers solely for a long time. And now, I’m happily balanced.

    …the baffling thing, AJ, is that we sound like we’re talking polar opposites, and yet we’re not quite entirely disagreeing. πŸ™‚

     
  25. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    Showering is an excellent idea, to get rid of writer’s block, or just to wake up!! the brain cells. When I get up to write early in the morning, I shower first. It jostles things loose and lets me get on with my day.

    (God, does he never shut up?) Similarly, when I talk about people needing less internet in their lives, it’s people who instead of changing the wiring or going to shower, just…go sit on the internet and stare, or go sit somewhere online and complain about their inability to write. It’s paralyzing in that sense.

    (Okay, NOW he shuts up)

     
  26. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    Technology should be a tool, not a crutch or that-which-turns-humans-into-zombies. Someday, hopefully, it’ll settle in to a better place and be used, instead of leaned on. I hope.

    The internet is like alcohol. Always in moderation. I’d love a return to simpler times, but with modern safety and security.

    and flushing toilets.

     
  27. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    And anesthetic, please. (And I agree. You summed up all my ranting neatly in a few sentences. I wish I were a writer too!)

     
  28. tjwriter

    November 8, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    Your post #28 is in response to my post #29. It’s just odd.

     
  29. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    And now your response is above your original post. It did this yesterday too, didn’t it? I manually fixed mine, now I’m just going to wait and see if WordPress corrects the glitch again. Friggin’ wordpress.

    PAPER NEVER DOES THIS!

    πŸ˜€

     
  30. tjwriter

    November 8, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Moderation of most things is good. Everything that Pete says resonates with me.

    I, however, seem to be getting a plethora of news that makes my stomach twist in knots today. Yay.

     
  31. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    😦 Feel free to talk and rant, as needed, wherever you like.

     
  32. tjwriter

    November 8, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    But there it swapped back to where it should be again. This is strange.

    Anyhoo, my mom called me to say the little boy we’ve been praying for all year is back in the emergency room and things do look good. Last Thanksgiving, on his way to PA for a family gathering, he complained of stomach pains. When they got him to an emergency room, they discovered that part of his intestine was dead and/or dying. They had to remove it. They’ve been worried about having to do a transplant. He was just under 3 when all this occurred. They thought he’d was getting better, but it seems to have taken a turn for the worse.

    Also, this little boy’s mother’s brother-in-law has been very sick recently and has taken a turn for the worse. I played soccer with the little boy’s aunt in high school.

    This family is related to my husband’s family and to members of my church. The last year has been terrible on them. As a church I know we have raised quite a bit of funds towards the costs of traveling to PA and to Boston for all the hospital stays. It’s been terrible.

    Plus the gut-wrenching story from this morning, and I feel 😦

     
  33. tjwriter

    November 8, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    That should be “things don’t look good” in case you couldn’t figure it out.

     
  34. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    :hugs Tori:

     
  35. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    Oh heavens – the poor kid. I’ve never heard of a transplanted intestines, but isn’t it amazing what they can do these days? My sister had a similar difficulty a few years ago and bounced back. It’s wild how kids at a young age can bounce back from things like this.

    And it helps to have such a strong support and prayer line.

     
  36. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    I always feel a bit guilty for having nothing profoundly useful, or comforting to say.

    No matter how things go for the young boy, at least he’s got the prayers of you and those around him. That’s better than some people have. He’s lucky for that, at least.

     
  37. tjwriter

    November 8, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    I just hate being useless. I hear all this stuff and there is nothing I can go do right this minute to help these people out.

    Back to the topic at hand, how’s that handwriting going? I haven’t written a lick today.

     
  38. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Hee. Yes, I actually have been a luddite. Ironically, that’s what created my dependence on technology–I basically got so sick from not seeing proper doctors or medical facilities for cumulative years, that it’s stayed with me. Flu and cold season tends to be especially bad times; I usually end up in the hospital. That and other things I won’t go into because they are a little freaky. The internet has been a great learning experience for me, and continues to be so.

    You’d do alright with respect to walking, Pete. In disaster situations, you last as long as your feet do, or at least that’s what Uncle Jim says. (Now I’ve just made you more paranoid, haven’t I?)

    …the baffling thing, AJ, is that we sound like we’re talking polar opposites, and yet we’re not quite entirely disagreeing. πŸ™‚

    That’s ’cause neither of us are insane people who insist on extremes. πŸ™‚

     
  39. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    I’m talking and talking about handwriting and yet, I’ve been typing all day. Nondescript has been so kink-free and so easy that I’ve just been writing it straight onto the computer. Later, if I get stuck, I’ll switch to handwriting.

    Rome is being handwritten from now ’till the end. I haven’t touched it. I don’t even want to think about it. I’m wondering if I had another “brain change,” and that novel got left behind. Lord knows how many times that’s happened. (For example: I can feel it about to happen again, and therefore need to write Nondescript REALLY FAST)

     
  40. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    :hugs Tori more, because there’s no such thing as too many hugs:

     
  41. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Extremes and crutches are nuts. I’m all about balance, maaan. *sounds like a hippie*

    Uncle Jim’s right there. First rule of surviving, after getting a fire going is “take care of your feet.”

    One of these days, when I’m a wealthy eccentric author, I’m going to go do a Survivorman stint in Africa or something and spend a couple of weeks living like that and writing a novel… πŸ™‚

     
  42. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    I wrote tons last night, and plan another late night session. But now, alas, it’s off to the garage to drill rocks! And thinkthinkthink about some subplots πŸ˜€ Back later !

     
  43. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Write like the wind, Pete, because the writer’s block is dissolving.

    I usually don’t write until the evening. Gives a nice day for things to work themselves out.

     
  44. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    Pssst, Pete, Survivorman is being sued by the BBC for faking it.

     
  45. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    Les Stroud? No way. *does not believe it*

     
  46. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    Well I just did a quick search for the article I read and I can’t find it. Phoey. Maybe it was someone else. A former British military officer, has a show about surviving in the wilds, but has been exposed for faking it. Staying hotels, having his rafts and camps prefabbed by the crew. . . must be a British version of the show. Or maybe I’m mixing up my BBC news stories . . ??

     
  47. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Oh, that’s Man vs. Wild. That guy’s a twit. Just watching the show, you realize what a fool and a fake he is…. πŸ™‚ He goes by the name Bear Grylls (!?).

    Les Stroud is the real deal.

    Boy, did you scare me… πŸ™‚

    Les Stroud and a woman (his wife, I think?) did a fascinating thing where, for a year, they lived alone and had to survive using only things they could build. There was an article on that, I’ll see if I can find it.

     
  48. MidnightMuse

    November 8, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    YES! That’s it, I had those two confused. Yes, yes. All better now πŸ˜€

     
  49. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/news.html?in_article_id=470155&in_page_id=1770

    Here’s an article on the Bear Grylls business. On his new show, Man vs. Wild, they don’t pretend he’s ACTUALLY surviving on his own wits.

     
  50. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Les_Stroud

    Les is one of my heroes these days.

    This talks a bit about what he and his wife, Sue, did for a year.

    I’ve always wanted to do what he did with his house (see “Off the Grid,”) less because of any paranoia and just because I like being self-sustaining. (Hi, I’m neurotic, pleased to meet you)

    Your attempted blasphemy of Les Stroud has disqualified you from this contest. πŸ˜›

     
  51. tjwriter

    November 8, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    *is seriously beginning to believe that Pete is her male counterpart.*

     
  52. Pete Tzinski

    November 8, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    There are probably worse things to be.

    I can’t think of any off the top of my head right at the moment, but I’m sure some will come to you. πŸ˜‰

     
  53. Arachne Jericho

    November 8, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Being a character in my novel.

     

Leave a Reply

 
