RSS

Cometh the time, Cometh the Pete

23 Nov

Hi, folks.

Well, I’m back. I wandered off for…what…a week? It wasn’t that long. It also wasn’t, to clear the misconception, me going away so that I could focus on writing tons and tons of words and really pull ahead in the Tea Debacle. Nah. I’m continuing to gleefully compete against two people, I’m having a mountain of fun doing that, and that’s as far as it goes.

No, I went off everything but e-mail (and, very briefly, an IM chat) because I was getting too buried in it. When I get too immersed in AW, I ban. This time, I banned, but found that so much of my attention had already shifted to peoples’ blogs, I enamored with those. So by publically announcing that I wasn’t going to comment, I could shut myself off for awhile, regain some perspective. I don’t have middle gears, something of a life problem with me. I’ve mentioned it before. So I do what I can, when I can, to balance myself out.

December 1st, we’ll be announcing something very cool, here and elsewhere on the net. January 1st will be something very cool that you will all laugh at, and I will not care in the teensiest little bit. Nyah.

“You want to come over for dinner, then watch a movie?” A friend asked me tonight, on the phone. I consider for a moment, because I’m busy and my wife just got home, and we’re tired from Thanksgiving* and everything.

“Absolutely,” I say. Because he’s my best friend, I adore him and his fiance**, and there’s very few things better than spending an evening, the four of us. (Five, if you count Zach. All right, four and a half.)

So after a tasty dinner, we settled in and we all watched Reign Over Me. They had seen it. My wife and I hadn’t. I have to say, that might be one of my favorite movies ever. That was a powerfully told story, it was a movie of its time, and was timeless despite of that. And it was a brilliant performance by both Adam Sandler and Don Cheadle. That’s a big thing for me to say. Adam Sandler’s comedies never did very much for me (Little Nicky was awesome, though). His best work, comedically, was on Saturday Night Live (remember? It used to be a comedy). Punch Drunk Love was okay, it was trying too hard to be art.

This was great. It was moving and raw and it had a happier ending than I thought it could find. Great, great movie. If you haven’t seen it, see it.

It didn’t have the raw emotional power of The Pursuit of Happyness (which was almost painful and definitely exhausting to watch. And, as a parent, it was terrifying). But it worked, and it stuck with me the rest of the night, and I count that as a success. I wish I’d written it.

Nightwish has a new CD out, and it’s really good. This is their first with their new female lead, and she does a great job. Some people say she isn’t as good as the last lead singer whose name I also cannot pronounce (they are a Scandinavian band. Very good stuff. It’s not Once, which was one of the coolest CDs ever, but it’s a good CD anyway.

And I’m off to bed. Chow.

* Thanksgiving was great. We cooked, and we cooked all sorts of stuff. There was a serious lot of food for three people (myself, my wife, my sister). We got very sick from eating too much. Today, I rose and ate too much again. It was wonderful.

** My friend and his fiance are getting married, obviously. “Are you considering a date yet?” I asked him, one day. “Yeah, we’re planning for September 13th right now.” He says to me. I smirk and laugh and reply, “That’s a terrific day to get married, in my experience.”

And then I explained to him, as I am explaining to you, that September 13th…is our wedding anniversary. He didn’t know that. So this coming September, on my fifth wedding anniversary (holycrap!), I’ll be participating in some capacity in his wedding. And because we’re friends, I’m going to do two things for him I don’t otherwise do very often: 1) Wear a suit. 2) Shave.

NOW, to bed.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

24 responses to “Cometh the time, Cometh the Pete

  1. ahibert

    November 24, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    Well, I think it’s stupid to compare Anette to Tarja. Both of them have very different voices, and both of them are great at singing. However, I find that Anette’s dancing is a little… disturbing. Great CD anyway, and glad to hear you’re back!

     
  2. Pete Tzinski

    November 24, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    I don’t think there’s really a comparison. Some people will prefer one, some will prefer the other. I enjoyed Tarja the whole time she was with Nightwish. Now that we have Anette, I’m enjoying her. The first song I heard off the new CD was “Bye Bye Beautiful,” (I picked a song at random and listened to it) and I love it.

    And we’re still getting Tuomas’s terrific writing and compositions. And Marco’s really, really good vocals. So I’m happy enough.

    Not to mention happy that someone will talk Nightwish with me. πŸ˜€

     
  3. MidnightMuse

    November 24, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    I have Pete to thank for my new musical obsession. No wonder I like them, they’re Scandavian πŸ˜€

     
  4. Pete Tzinski

    November 24, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    Also, the band members have some of the coolest hair EVER. If I could grow a long forked beard like that, I totally would.

    (by “if I could,” I of course mean, “If my wife would tolerate it for even a moment,” and not “if only I could grow facial hair.”)

     
  5. Soccer Mom

    November 24, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    Pete? Pete who? I don’t know any Pete. πŸ˜€

     
  6. Pete Tzinski

    November 24, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    You remember? The guy who actually blogs around here once in awhile? The cute one? With the baby?

     
  7. Soccer Mom

    November 24, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Sort of rings a bell. I knew a Pete once. He kept leaving me to talk the imaginary people in his head. Would that be you?

     
  8. Pete Tzinski

    November 24, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    Yes!That’s me! How could you forget, after all the good times we had together?

    Anyway, I have returned, and I have brought Sexy back with me.

     
  9. ahibert

    November 25, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Ah, yes, the guys in Nigtwish have the best hair EVER. I remember posting a pic of Marco on AW and someone said it wasn’t fair that his hair was silkier than hers. *sigh* If only I could grow a hair like that… (not the beard, though).

    But yeah, I’m also enjoying the new CD. With or without Tarja, the real genius behind Nightwish has always been Tuomas, but people sort of forgot that. As long as Tuomas’s still there, Nighwtish will continue to be one of my favorite bands.

    BTW, I adored While Your Lips Are Still Red. Maybe it’s more the lyrics than the actual song, but it kept me drooling for quite a while.

     
  10. Soccer Mom

    November 25, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    Oh yes. That Pete. I remember him. Odd guy.

    Which is of course why I liked him! πŸ˜€

    Welcome back to the land of the cyberliving.

     
  11. Pete Tzinski

    November 25, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Thank god you remembered! I thought I had faded from memory to all but someone who likes Nightwish. πŸ˜€

     
  12. Soccer Mom

    November 25, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    I was distracted by shinys and trying to wrap up the plot of Second Sight. And I know nothing about Nightwish.

     
  13. ahibert

    November 25, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Soccer Mom… follow the link and ignore the girl πŸ˜€

     
  14. Soccer Mom

    November 25, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    I’m guessing they won’t do a little Albioni Concerto for me. That’s a lot of eyeliner. Do you think they wash it off and reapply each day or just leave the smudged on stuff from the day before and goop more on?

     
  15. Pete Tzinski

    November 26, 2007 at 6:12 am

    Tuomas is getting very Captain Jack Sparrow on us these days. M’self, I want Marco’s beard.

    (this is such a weird conversation)

    Here, one of my favorite Nightwish songs: http://youtube.com/watch?v=uGWYmQ1iebI

     
  16. Soccer Mom

    November 26, 2007 at 8:33 am

    Oh! I quite enjoyed that. I’ve found a few more songs and find the music very “writeable”. I’ll have to pick up a CD. Thanks!

     
  17. mymidnightmuse

    November 26, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Yes, thanks to Pete I have a whole list now of Nightwish CDs to buy this payday. Had I known of them before I’d have been stocked up – now I have to have them. I love finding a new musical addiction πŸ˜€

     
  18. ahibert

    November 26, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Tuomas?? Getting all jack sparrow on us??

    Naaaaaaaaaah

     
  19. Pete Tzinski

    November 26, 2007 at 11:37 am

    Oh man, I hadn’t seen that picture. That’s funny. πŸ˜€

    I’m glad you guys are getting into Nightwish, because I just adore them. There are other similar bands — Kamelot, Epica, Iced Earth, Lacuna Coil — and they’re okay, I guess. I infinitely prefer Nightwish. Lacuna Coil is okay, sometimes (all their stuff sounds the same to me). Iced Earth is good, but I find that they fall more into the category of bands like Cradle of Filth. Which is fine, since I’m a big Cradle of Filth fan.

    My favorite Nightwish songs are:

    1) Ghost Love Score
    2) Nemo
    3) Bye Bye Beautiful
    4) Planet Hell

    Evidentially, I’m a big fan of the CD “Once,” which is true.

     
  20. Ed Pahule

    November 26, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    *peeks in*

    I thought I heard a voice I recognized.

    *sees someone in the crowd*

    Pete? Pete? Is that you?

    I thought you were dead.

     
  21. tjwriter

    November 26, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    *Waves hello to everyone.*

    No, I didn’t die. Just fell off the earth with a ton of stuff. Not much writing getting done, but some. If the toddler would nap, I could happily write instead of running around the house stopping her from doing something she is not supposed to be doing every five seconds.

    I’ll will be so glad when Christmas gets here and she gets better toys that should hold her imagination longer.

    All kinds of things to talk about, and I’m gonna blog tonight, whatever it takes.

    Cheer-i-o and good day.

     
  22. Pete Tzinski

    November 26, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    The reports of my death were greatly unspread. Damn it. There was no mourning ANYWHERE on the net…!

    Glad you’re back around, Tori!

     
  23. tjwriter

    November 26, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Good to be back. Due to things last night, I feel better today than I have in a long time. Other than, the I-Don’t-Want-To-Return-To-Work-After-A-Long-Weekend blues.

     
  24. mymidnightmuse

    November 26, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Oh, my bad, I thought you asked me to spread the MORNING for you. I was still trying to figure that one out.

    πŸ˜€

     

Leave a Reply

 
