RSS

To the Castle Debacle, thou hast come

30 Nov

Forty days and forty nights had I stumbled across the trackless desert, from dune to dune and through valley after valley, all of them the same as every one before. Time had no meaning, neither did hunger, nor thirst: they were all things which washed over me and held dominion over me, and I offered them no thought or resistance. There was only room for the simple thought: left foot, right foot…

I crested another dune and head, wavering in the heat like a mirage, there loomed a great castle, on the very shores of a vasty ocean, and I stopped walking out of disbelief and stared at it: at the towering walls and high turrets, the windows cut into the gray rock, the moat, the chain-pulled drawbridge; the black ocean with its white-cresting waves; the smashed, broken boat, resting on the land and rotting slowly away beneath the steady teeth of time itself. There was a fetid landfill, I do not know why.

With the last ounce of strength I had, I stumbled to the gate, which opened before me, and a man stepped out: bony, hollow-faced, eyes that burned with the fires of madness, and he clasped my shoulder and said in a voice like leaves, blowing across a sidewalk, “At least, you have come, thee writer! Welcome, this day, to Castle Debacle!

He added, sensing my hesitation, “We have tea and pens.”

It was that or the trackless desert, and I allowed him to bring me inside. The great door slammed behind me, a thunderous boom, and it was the last time I should hear them open, outside of the black vale of madness and deadline. and tea… 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “To the Castle Debacle, thou hast come

  1. mymidnightmuse

    November 30, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Oh Dearest Prudence! Thou Hast Arrived!

     
  2. Ed, the Shadow Ferret

    November 30, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Wha?

     
  3. Lori

    November 30, 2007 at 11:48 am

    It’s okay, you assorted nuts and legumes, just follow the sinister little man behind the locked doors. You’ll be safe there

     
  4. Jeanne

    November 30, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    You can check out any time you want, but you can never leave.

     
  5. Melissa (sanremoave)

    November 30, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    “Over? Who said it’s over? Was it over when the German’s bombed Pearl Harbor? NO! Who’s with me? Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhh!”

    –John Belushi, Animal House

     
  6. Jeanne

    November 30, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    Toga! Toga! Toga!

    I think this demands a stupid and futile gesture…

     
  7. tjwriter

    November 30, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    Poor CPD is going to suffer.

     
  8. Lori

    November 30, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Nah. Everything will even out. It’ll just take a little time.

     

Leave a Reply

 
