RSS

One Week

01 Dec

Anyone who’s talked to me for any small length of time is aware of the sheer amount of time I’ve spent either watching Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe, or talking about the importance of that show. I do it all the time. I love the show.

I have just found something today, on on the internet, called One Week Job. It’s very interesting, in that it’s a week-long version of Dirty Jobs, really. There’s this article about in the New York Times and I was intrigued enough to wander off the web-site. Intrigue turned to delight, and I’ve been enjoying the web-site no end.

The web-site is One Week Job.

Now, I have a wife and a child and no particular money, and so something like that never would have been practical for me. But nonetheless, I’m jealous. He took something I deeply enjoy and — probably for reasons that were entirely his own, and perhaps not even linked to Dirty Jobs — he went off and did it, What a great idea!

It also brings another idea I’ve had for a long-running column back to the forefront of my mind. It’s still impracticle and dangerous and my wife would still not go for it, but I can’t help but think that maybe, just maybe, it would work, same as this does.

Their web-site is, as of this writing, “currently smoked with traffic and down,” which is what the New York Times does to you. But you can watch the episodes and, if you’re lucky, you can get into the site. It’s very cool.

The article raises some interesting questions and points about what is, probably, my generation. Which is not to say I claim ’em.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “One Week

  1. Lori

    December 1, 2007 at 10:25 am

    Interesting concept. Think we could offer him a job as a freelance writer?

     
  2. Soccer Mom

    December 1, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    What a cool website. A new addiction is born. Curse you, Pete! 😀

     
  3. Lori Basiewicz

    December 1, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    It’s his way of lessening his competition in the slush pile.

     
  4. mymidnightmuse

    December 1, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    I’d heard of this, but didn’t realize he had a website. It’s a cool idea – Oh, to be young again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
