RSS

The Bear (reprise)

13 Dec

This is to point out the reason you should never listen to a writer who complains about his book.

I was in a black mood when I wrote my previous post, feeling that I had made hash out of my Roman novel, and had now made hash out of my 1940’s novel, and was an utter failure of a writer. I did dishes and stormed around the house and figured out how to write the next scene, and did that.

A little while later, I figured out what was wrong (I was thinking too much “story” when I need to forget that and just think “character,” which is the point of the whole novel).Ā  That was at about six o’ clock this evening.

My wife got home from work at nine o’ clock. At nine, I had done a total of 8,500 words today. I did 5,000 words yesterday. So I’m at 13,000 words for the past two days, which means I’m practically caught up to where I was when I cut 16,000 words. AND these words are all better, and livelier and more fun. And I got to do a really terrific sequence in loving homage to old Combat Casey sort of pulp stories.

Never listen to a writer.

& now, happily and with sore hands (from typing), I go to bed. Good night, folks.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “The Bear (reprise)

  1. tjwriter

    December 14, 2007 at 5:33 am

    Sometimes you just have to give that great big bear a big ol’ bear hug.

    (Groan at your leisure.)

    šŸ˜€

     
  2. Shadow Ferret

    December 14, 2007 at 10:47 am

    I still hate bears. Sneaky buggers.

     
  3. Pete Tzinski

    December 14, 2007 at 10:52 am

    Duh, Ed! It’s a metaphor! If I were literally wrestling a bear every day, would I have enough energy — or fingers? or blood? — left to blog about it? I don’t think so.

    I have to be careful with my metaphors, or Ed’s going to wake up one day and go “Well, I guess the only way to be a real writer is to go wrestle a bear on a slippery slope, but first, I’ll see if the scabs have healed enough that I can put my nose to the grindstone again…”

    …and then we’re going to lose Ed. šŸ˜›

     
  4. MidnightMuse

    December 14, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    See? You knew how to toss that rotting salmon after all. And here you were acting like you didn’t understand what I was talking about ! šŸ˜€

     
  5. Shadow Ferret

    December 14, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Oh, a metaphor. I always get that confused with similes, analogies, allegories, parables, and other related rhetorical concepts.

    *makes a note: Pete isn’t really fighting a bear*

     
  6. Pete Tzinski

    December 14, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Turns out I had a passing idea. Who knew.

    The nice thing about doing 5,000 words one day, 8,000 words the next day, and suddenly it makes it much easier to just pound out a few more thousand words. It’s a good rhythm. Today, I sat down for an hour and did 2,000 words. I’ve done 4,000 so far today, and have plenty of time to do more. Is good.

    (I cleared 46,000 words in the novel. So I’m now above where I was when I cut 16k)

    (there are a lot of numbers in this comment)

     
  7. mymidnightmuse

    December 14, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    HA! Mine’s at just over 55,000! ;D I’m in full-on panic mode, though, to get this done before the Shipwreck since that’s a whole different novel. *runs screaming in circles*

     
  8. Pete Tzinski

    December 14, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Well, I’m taking a break now, but if I can manage to get an hour of writing time in tonight, I’ll hit 51,000 just fine. So I’m catching you up. Bet I’ll end December with more words than you. šŸ˜‰

    (a’course, you plan to end with a finished novel, whereas I just hope to have more novel behind me than in front of me.)

     
  9. Shadow Ferret

    December 14, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    Weird, I just hit about 52,000 on my WIP. I just finished a battle between Thor and Ymir. No bears. Just frost giants and dead warriors from Valhalla.

     
  10. Pete Tzinski

    December 14, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    Ed, I have a short story of mine I should send you. It sounds like you’d like it. It’s called “Trolls Under Bridges, Eating Gods,” and Thor’s in it. Briefly. šŸ˜€

    Kristine’s at 55, you’re at 52. *cracks knuckles*

    (I have another two blog posts I want to do, but haven’t the time. So maybe I’ll just talk about things in this comment trail for awhile. That’s not so poor an idea.)

     
  11. Shadow Ferret

    December 14, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Oops. I lied. I’m at 53,000.

    I’d like to read that, Pete.

     
  12. Soccer Mom

    December 15, 2007 at 9:20 am

    I’m envious of all the people with new words. I’m editing. This involves a lot of rewriting, but I don’t really consider those new words. I’m just itching to finish War of the Crickets. I was reading Larklight last night and the urge to write MG washed over me. I think it’s more like a very small bear, this urge to stop editing and write new stuff. I don’t feed it the salmon, just slap it with the fish a time or two and it goes away.

    Gah.

    But on the happy side, I’m going to go pay a deposit on a cruise to Cozumel for next summer. w00t!

     

Leave a Reply

 
