RSS

The Bear

13 Dec

There’s a phrase that’s applied variously to all sorts of different things, but which will for the moment be applied to writing, and the phrase goes: “It’s like wrestling a bear. Some days, you’re on top. Some days, the bear is.”

Either way, I think the key point of that phrase is, you’re too close to a big damn bear. But never mind.

Sigh. This is me grousing, because I hit a wall, wrote around it, did 5,000 really good and gleeful words, then today I did 3,000 words and banged into another. It can be worked around, but goddamn. Me and novels.

In other news, for my birthday, my wife suddenly got me a copy of Love in the Time of Cholera, which I mistakenly believed to be the Nobel Prize winner from last year, but actually won sometime in the early ’80s. Apparently, it’s a movie now. I have no interest in the movie, but I’m thirty pages into the book and enjoying it no end. It’s simultaneously beautifully and thickly written, but I like it. It also solved my problem of trying to decide what to read next.

I also got a thick book which is a complete guide to all the Roman Emperors, with an appendix on all the Roman writers and what they did. It’s delightful and full of useful information, and dates, and maps, and so on.

If I’m sporadically around the ‘net, it’s because the passwords are still changed and I only get on briefly when my wife is home. And usually when she’s home, I am doing other things, so I am limited. As always, the best way to see that I respond it by e-mail. I’m still doing fairly okay with that.

And there’s my blog for the day. If you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go do another round with that big damn bear.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “The Bear

  1. mymidnightmuse

    December 13, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    The trick to bear wrestling, I’ve found, is to toss a dead salmon and run like hell.

    Don’t fall for that Play Dead routine, they’ll happily sit down and munch your scalp off. And don’t bother climbing a tree, they’ll push it down. Just toss that damn rotting salmon and run like there’s a sale on rollerballs at Franklin and Covey and you’ve got a pocket full of cash and the Penman Shipwreck is weeks away. Don’t look back, and if at all possible, run downhill – they hate that.

    These are all writing metaphors, I swear 😀

     
  2. Pete Tzinski

    December 13, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    ONE of these days, I will just leave that poor bear alone and go get a day job, or something, damn it, I swear!

    Your writing metaphors are complex and hard to decipher, so that must mean they’re really, really good. 😛

     
  3. mymidnightmuse

    December 13, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    “.. so that must mean they’re really, really good.” Okay, let’s go with that answer ! 😀

     
  4. Shadow Ferret

    December 13, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    Bears scare the crap out of me. I just stay out of the woods.

     
  5. Cath

    December 15, 2007 at 6:47 am

    Love in the Time of Cholera is a great book!

     
  6. Lori Basiewicz

    December 17, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Pete, you’d hate the day job. It would turn you into Ed in less than a week. Just whack the bears with a rolled up newspaper and tell them to behave.

    Now, get back to work.

     
  7. Pete Tzinski

    December 17, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    Every now and then, I think “I miss having a day job,” but am wise enough to recognize that the only reason I miss it is because I haven’t had to get up and go to one for a number of months now. No day jobs, thankssomuch.

    Love in the Time of Cholera IS a pretty good book, sort of. Actually, it’s a great book. I Have Opinions about it, and a blog post on the matter has been added to my long list of “things I need to write blog posts about, but have thus far failed to do so,”

    And then there’s the umpty thousand word article Ed inspired…

     

Leave a Reply

 
