RSS

Facts. Weird ones. Five of ‘em.

17 Dec

Ed tagged me. Eat your heart out, Ed.

1. I lived on St. Croix, in the Virgin Islands, twice. The first time, when I was a little younger than five. Then, my mom got pregnant with my sister. In the vicinity of Hurricane Hugo (not a nice hurricane), we moved to New Hampshire. Then, a little while later, we moved back. Between the two times, I spent a fair amount of my childhood more or less out of the country. It influenced how I looked at life from then on, when we moved back. Occasionally, it still does.

2. I am afraid of the dark, except for the times when I love it. I am afraid of it when my imagination tells me “And when you walk through this closet, this is where a little onion-eyed girl with too-sharp teeth comes out and hugs you, and her mouth opens too too wide as she grins up at you,” and then I wind up turning on all the lights in the house.

3. When I met Neil Gaiman, I stammered a moment, and then we had a discussion about fountain pens, and how it was a shame that the good ones had been made a long, long time ago, and how we needed to investigate Necromancy for pens. I no longer remember the exact words. I very much doubt he does. But there you go.

4. Nails drive me nuts. Cuticle nails, I mean. All four of our cats have meticulously tended to nails, because for some reason, I obsess over it. Obsessive-compulsive? Probably. Creepy, probably. Sigh.

5. I have lived in Minnesota for a grand total of eight years now, (between two different times here, four years or so each) and this is the longest I’ve ever lived anywhere. It is very strange. And nice. (Does this count as a different fact than number one? I don’t know. I’m not doing very good at this. pete = frazzled.)

And I nominate dearest Kristine, and dearest Lori, and they must go thee hither and thus, shall they list five things & there shall be much rejoycing.

There we go.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

11 responses to “Facts. Weird ones. Five of ‘em.

  1. Lori

    December 17, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    Jen Nipps already memed me. 😛

     
  2. Shadow Ferret

    December 18, 2007 at 7:01 am

    “I lived in the St. Croix, in the Virgin Islands twice.” *he repeats in a snotty mimicky voice* Yeah? Yeah? Well… well, I spent 3 years in Iceland! So there! Nyah!

    Lori, that’s ok, I’m not really taking this tagging thing seriously. (Although I did tag Carrie, too, and I’m waiting). I just did it because I wanted to tell the story about my escalator incident.

     
  3. Pete Tzinski

    December 18, 2007 at 7:40 am

    The tagging bit is what gives me the hives about internet meme things. I would have to follow the entire course of this entire thing across the entirety of the internet, to make sure I didn’t meme the same person twice. Heck, I’m barely online enough right now to check my electronic mailings! Poo!

    Ed, I would love to live in Iceland. What part?

     
  4. tjwriter

    December 18, 2007 at 8:43 am

    I still have to do my eights, and now I have to do five weird things about me. Should be very hard really.

    Things have been nutty. When I can get some time away from clingy, sick toddler with nasty snot, and husband who has decided that he actually wants to spend time with me right now, I’ll blog about all sorts of stuff. There’s a lot of things going on.

     
  5. tjwriter

    December 18, 2007 at 8:44 am

    That should read: Shouldn’t be very hard really.

    I’m really, really weird. Lots of fodder for my husband to give me a hard time.

     
  6. mymidnightmuse

    December 18, 2007 at 9:38 am

    What the hell, it’ll be more interesting than anything else I could post today. But I ain’t taggin’ anyone, I don’t know another 5 people what ain’t already done it.

     
  7. Shadow Ferret

    December 18, 2007 at 10:03 am

    I never did my 8s. I apologize for that but I can’t think of 8 interesting things about me. I’m really a boring person.

    And I was out at the Naval Transmitter Site near the little town of Grindavik. Southwest corner of the island.

     
  8. tjwriter

    December 18, 2007 at 11:07 am

    And I was out at the Naval Transmitter Site near the little town of Grindavik. Southwest corner of the island.

    I read that as Navel, not Naval. To which I thought: Hmm, a belly button transmitter. That’d be neat. I wonder what you would transmit.

    Of course, you could fit a small city in my navel, it being a very serious innie and all that. I don’t see why a transmitter would be such a problem.

    As I mentioned over at the Castle, I’m feeling really weird today. I hope I get the chance to blog tonight as I’m full of all sorts of things.

     
  9. Pete Tzinski

    December 18, 2007 at 11:17 am

    A belly button transmitter would be something Maxwell Smart would be equipped with, I bet. “Let me pull up my shirt, so you can radio HQ!”

     
  10. tjwriter

    December 18, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    LOL! That sounds about right.

     
  11. Shadow Ferret

    December 19, 2007 at 8:54 am

    Belly button transmitter. I wonder if the show Probe (or Search, I have trouble remembering which was which. First the movie came out with one name, then the TV show came out with a different name because there was a problem with using the movie name or some such nonsense) used something like that. That was a really cool show. Thanks for reminding me. I wonder if they have it on DVD. Hugh O’Brien was one of the actors. They were like an Impossible Mission team with really cool microized gadgets. I really enjoyed that show, short lived as it was.

     

Leave a Reply

 
