RSS

Christmas itinerary

26 Dec

This is what I did with my Christmas:

Up early, but not because of Zach. Zach sleeps wonderfully through the night most of the time (six nights out of seven, he goes to bed at 10 and gets up the next morning at 7, when I get up anyway). Showered, shaved, other exciting paltry things.

At ten in the morning, I took a ham over to Jeremy’s place (Jeremy being my bestest friend, down the hall). We got it cooking in his oven. I ambled back home, so he and his fiance could finish getting ready (apparently, I was the only one awake and moving that early).

Played Mario Galaxy for a little while, and fed Zach, and watched a TV show called Sharks Under Glass, about the work that’s being done on sharks in the aquariums around the U.S. It declared itself to be hosted by Heidi Klum, but she never appeared. Instead, it was narrated by a deep-voiced man. But it was full of High-Definitions sharks, so I don’t care.

At noon, my wife and son and I headed over to their place again. We all played Rock Band. I really enjoy that game. I’m not a bad drummer, I don’t think, but Jeremy’s fiance puts me to shame.

Played a couple of songs, and then I went into the hot hot hot kitchen and started making my proper Christmas dish which was a huge pot of sausage Jambalaya. I made a great deal more than I should have. We had a load of leftovers (I am eating some now. “For breakfast?” you say in horror? “For breakfast,” I reply happily, but fearing the ominous rumblings of heartburn on the horizon).

After waiting for my sister to try and burn MY home down (grumblegrumble), we all built large plates of food and ate. There was a lot of food, all of it from scratch. Green bean casserole,  potatoes au gratin, jambalaya, a mayo-chicken-noodle salad of some sort, dinner bread, honey ham, and probably something else I’m forgetting. It was all delicious. We all ate far, far too much. Jeremy and I, in an effort to try everything, each had two heaping plates, and then we moaned and whined the rest of the afternoon. We were all too full for dessert, which consisted of homemade Key Lime pie, Chocolate pie of some sort, and pumpkin pie.

While eating, we watched The Simpsons Movie on Blu-Ray disk (“so it’ll be even HIGHER definition…cartoons….like with blacker black lines?” “Shut up, Pete.”). The movie was about two hours long which means that in my life, I have now seen a grand total of about three hours worth of The Simpsons.

Afterward, we played a board game called “Apples to Apples,” in which nobody liked any card that Jeremy or I put down, because the rest of the room was populated with women who have secret telepathic communication rays that they use to cheat and despise us men, and I am not bitter because I lost both games.

Afterward, afterward, we played more Rock Band. Lots of good music in that game. And, because I was full and slow about my wits, and Jeremy was pushy, I stood there in my friend’s living room and while he played guitar and his fiance played drums, I…sang. It happened. I sang “Detroit Rock City,” by KISS, which I picked because I know all the words anyway. And it was a good thing, because though the words scroll across the screen, they are small and fast-moving and I couldn’t read ’em.

It was fun, actually. I also sang “In Bloom,” by Nirvana, and “Dani California,” by Red Hot Chili Peppers. Oh, and “Paranoid,” by some cover band that really, really wanted to be Black Sabbath with Ozzy. There is a Beastie Boys song on the playlist, but I couldn’t get anyone else to stand in the living room and obnoxiously rap it. Hmph.

Pie was eventually had. Zach was fussy and we eventually headed home. He was sick, Zach was, because he’s home with me all day long every day, and I was sick this past week. But he’s okay today. Or at least, he’s not shouting at anybody.

There were presents all around. For example, some of the things I got are:

The Emperor of Notting Hill, by G.K. Chesterton, because I hadn’t read it and really wanted to.

– ONE KILOGRAM of Orange Spice tea from Taylor & Harrogates. It’s a huge back. I took pictures. I’ll upload ’em, soon as I remember. Delicious tea.

– A massive book on coral reefs, the environments and the fish that live in ’em. Fascinating stuff. Goes well with my deep sea life book.

– A pre-order for the video game “Endless Ocean,” for the Wii, that comes out sometime in January. It’s…yes…a deep sea exploration and species cataloging game. It sounds boring, except to me, where it sounds like the best thing ever.

– A Barnes & Noble $30.00 gift card from Jeremy & Fiance. (It goes well with the Starbucks gift cards my parents got for myself and Renee. We can get some crappy tea and coffee from the Starbucks — actually, they make okay Rooibos — and then go spend money on books.

– Probably some other stuff I’m forgetting.

Other stuff was gotten. My wife’s present from us to her, as it were, was an expensive digital camera that was on sale on Amazon.com. Beautiful thing. 7.1 megapixels (though we all know that’s not wholly useful) and the big feature is a 12x optical zoom. Drool. She loves it.

Zach got all manner of clothes and toys.

I ordered, for myself, five disposable fountain pens off Amazon.com to see how they would work. They are a dream, and are a sturdier and finer quality pen than those non-disposable pens I otherwise owned. I plan to keep buying ’em. I’m using one now, and saving four for the Penman Shipwreck.

I spent most of the week sick enough that I just couldn’t get any writing done. Nothing useful. What irks me about this is how badly it kills my chances of finishing The Nondescript between now and January 1st. I’m still really trying, though. This just means that between now and then, I’ll be going without sleep and probably will not be blogging, or answering e-mail. (I say that now. blogging is a useful way to shake the gears into motion before I settle in to write for the day. I’ll probably blog more).

I have a ways to go in the novel, but I’m within shouting distance of the end. So we’ll see if I can make it, or if I spill over into the Penman Shipwreck.

I still don’t know what I’m going to write during the Shipwreck. Here’s hoping something comes to me.

Right. And now, I’m off to write. Take care.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “Christmas itinerary

  1. tjwriter

    December 26, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    That sounds like a very fun Christmas, Pete. I’ll try to sneak online tonight and blog about my Christmas. It felt very hectic this year.

     
  2. tjwriter

    December 26, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    The music post disappeared………?

     
  3. Pete Tzinski

    December 26, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    It wasn’t working properly. So I made it go “boom.” 🙂

     
  4. tjwriter

    December 26, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    I was going to look at it later this evening.

    And I’m promise that I am working on a reply to your letter. It’s just that I can’t seem to get any time to myself where I can sit down and do stuff. But little by little I’m getting it done.

     
  5. Pete Tzinski

    December 26, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Fortunately, there’s no time limit on letters. Write it when you can, send it when you will, and I’ll respond when I’m able. Easy peasy.

    ANGST-FILLED POST-SCRIPT TO THE BLOG POST: I would like one goddamn novel to work, all the way through, without problem or consternation. Days like this, I produce two thousand words, work up into a good, shouty, black mood, and think that the best thing in the world would be to go get a day job shoveling turkey poo and leave the writing to someone else. Also, I’d like a pony.

    *stomps off to eat a conciliatory bowl of Jambalaya, which served as breakfast and will now serve as dinner*

     
  6. tjwriter

    December 26, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    It’s okay, Pete. I promise. I haven’t touched my WIP. There’s something big not clicking in my brain. I can feel that something is missing, and yet I have no idea what it is. Just waiting for it all to fall into place.

    Would someone like to come and shake me?

     
  7. Pete Tzinski

    December 26, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    If I go around shaking people, I’ll get arrested or something.

    I’ve done another thousand words. So I’ve done 3,000 so far today. There are worse days. And I keep writing because I know that even though I’m shoveling crap…tomorrow, when I’m in a better mood, I’ll look at what I wrote and be unable to remember what was so awful about it. Forward motion…

     
  8. MidnightMuse

    December 26, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    I have news for you, Pete – all novels work that way. Seriously. I’ve been writing nothing BUT novels for over 10 years, and even though I can see the entire novel start to finish, and be gung-ho through the whole affair, I’ll end up hitting a wall of doubt, fear and frustration before the end. Thankfully and usually, I get passed it and finish.

    And thankfully, just the other night, I had an epiphany and now know what to do with Ether to make it a logical, workable and hopefully interesting novel in the Shipwreck. And I must blog today.

     

Leave a Reply

 
