RSS

Chain of bookshelves

03 Jan

What could be more fun for the creepy bibliophile in all of us? Below are links to pictures of my bookshelves. We only have two, at the moment, which are devoted to books. There are two more, across the room, which do have books on them, but mostly it consists of comic books, dictionaries, peculiar reference books, and piles of papers in no particular order. And while that might sound interesting to look at too…the problem is, they aren’t in any sort of layout where you could see anything but piles and you would just get a sense of “Pete could use to organize once in awhile,” and telling me that wouldn’t do any good.

Furthermore…on these two shelves, my wife and I (mostly me…the vast majority of these books are ones I read. My wife reads less than I do these days, being busy and tired) put up the books that I knew I liked, or planned to read soon. I’ve read most of them. Most of them, I’ve read dozens of times over.

We have twelve, or more, big boxes full of books cataloged and stored away in a dark, dry room, because if we put up our entire book collection, we would need at least six more shelves just like these two, and I bet you we’d still wind up with leftovers. This is why I keep trying to find a way to build something into a library. (When I am rich and famous, and we build our own house, not only will I have a terrific study, but we shall have a beautiful library with mahogony shelves built into the walls, hard wood floors, reading lamps and plush chairs, and a hidden sound system tuned to a classical music station. And maybe a fireplace. And tall, thin frosted windows here and there.)

There are other books I really like, and the reason you don’t see them on the shelf is…they are off, they are on the table next to me (and by the couch, and by the bed, and by my desk) and are in various states of being read.

Without further ado, here’s the pictures. (They are big, the better to see them with.)

Left shelf

Right Shelf

Top of the shelves

There we go!

And…I pass this on to Ed. Ed! Take pictures of your books, in some form (even if it’s just opening up a box and photographing it. Or your shelves, if you have ’em) and post them, so we can oggle at your books.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

11 responses to “Chain of bookshelves

  1. mymidnightmuse

    January 3, 2008 at 10:15 am

    Ooh, I want your big, purdy Edgar Allen Poe 😀 My niece got a lovely hardback collection of HG Wells at Christmas and I was so jealous, I have to go pick one up myself.

     
  2. Pete Tzinski

    January 3, 2008 at 10:18 am

    That’s my wife’s. It was the first birthday (Christmas?) gift I ever got her. It was back when Barnes & Noble first started doing their leatherbound editions. On another shelf, I have Grimm’s Fairy Tales and the complete works of Shakespeare in similar editions.

    (pictures might vanish for a second. I’m re-uploading them at their original huge, huge size, so that you can really look close, if you like. What’s the point of being creepy bibliophiliac otherwise?)

     
  3. Shadow Ferret

    January 3, 2008 at 10:27 am

    How come when I click on them I get a notice that says “Page not found?” *wonders if work’s firewall is the cultprit*

    And I could take pictures of the few books I have (mostly mine, my wife only collects a few books, the rest she resells when done with). It will take time. I’m not digital yet. I’d have to use my film camera, get them processed, scan them, load them, blah blah blah blah blah.

    I’ll also have to put them orderly in alphabetical. They’re kind of just shoved in there now with no rhyme or reason which drives me nuts. Oh, wait, I know the reason, my wife likes the bookshelves stacked by HEIGHT. Have you ever heard of such a thing?

     
  4. Pete Tzinski

    January 3, 2008 at 10:28 am

    It’s not your firewall, Ed. I deleted the pictures. Hang on. I’m working on a way to upload them so that they can be displayed in REALLY BIG MODE so that everyone can actually look close at the books, if they so choose.

     
  5. Pete Tzinski

    January 3, 2008 at 10:29 am

    All fixed!

     
  6. Shadow Ferret

    January 3, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Cool.

    We share one book, Pompeii. (Although I do have a Poe collection, just not that one.)

    Now, after seeing your wonderous collection, I’m very much embarrassed to show mine. 🙂

    Harry Potter. *snickers*

     
  7. Shadow Ferret

    January 3, 2008 at 10:42 am

    I also notice a lot of your books are hardcover, whereas mine, cheap SOB that I am, are all paperbacks.

     
  8. mymidnightmuse

    January 3, 2008 at 10:45 am

    I have a nasty habit of sharing my books when I finish, only keeping those I know I’ll read over and over. But I’m slowly re-amassing a collection. I adore hardbacks whenever possible, but the majority of mine are paperback.

     
  9. Pete Tzinski

    January 3, 2008 at 10:51 am

    I much prefer Hardbacks, for all sorts of reasons. The big one is, in a hardback, the text tends to be bigger, and there’s space between the lines. That really helps. There are books that are impenetrable stories to me in mmpb, but if I read it in hardcover, I can do just fine.

    [brags] Almost every one of those Stephen King hardcovers, except for “Dreamcatcher,” are first editions. We’re very proud of that. [/brags]

    Here and there, you see some really dinged up books — like the Puppet Masters, and The Talisman. It’s because they were the refuse from a used bookshop, and were free. Never underestimate free books.

     
  10. tjwriter

    January 3, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    I’ll check the pictures out when I get home, but my books are all in boxes right now while I rearrange, so that’s boring.

    The ‘lottery house’ as I call it, is much the same as you describe. If I ever when the lottery, I shall have a library with beautiful built in bookcases, a roaring fire, and a big overstuffed chair whereabouts I may place my bum so that I can read and write until my heart feels satisfied. (Two years next to never, if you must know.)

    *Dreams of that beautiful library.*

     
  11. Lucien

    January 4, 2008 at 1:57 am

    Nice copy of Heart Shape Box!
    Hiya Pete, and happy New Year!

     

Leave a Reply

 
