RSS

WPM

14 Jan

Ed has a little thingie on his blog, telling the world how many words-per-minute he typed. So I went and took the test. The first time, I failed out because a certain baby sitting on my lap suddenly mashed the keyboard and took me to a different page.

But I got it right the second time.

108 words

Touch Typing

So, there we go. What a cool test!

(edit: sigh. It won’t properly show the box that it shows on other blogs. All I get is a link with the number in it. So I could have put any number there in the world. I suppose you’ll have to trust that I actually did 108. Which I did.)

 
63 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

63 responses to “WPM

  1. Shadow Ferret

    January 14, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Showoff.

     
  2. Pete Tzinski

    January 14, 2008 at 10:41 am

    YOU posted it! I just took the test!

     
  3. tjwriter

    January 14, 2008 at 11:10 am

    I’ll have to do that when I get home. Sounds like a fun thing to do.

    All I know is that I am going to scream today. It’s been that lovely. Would anyone like a rant tonight?

     
  4. Shadow Ferret

    January 14, 2008 at 11:28 am

    I know I posted it, but you weren’t supposed to do that well. :p

     
  5. mymidnightmuse

    January 14, 2008 at 11:58 am

    I’m ranting, people keep leaving the room. I’ve sworn off blogging today because I’m in a black mood, so I shall dash off and try my finger at touch typing, so I can brag bigger’n Pete.

     
  6. mymidnightmuse

    January 14, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Well that wasn’t easy, I kept trying to make sense of what they had me type. But I got a 102 out of it.

     
  7. tjwriter

    January 14, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    *Looks forward to trying it out this evening.*

     
  8. Shadow Ferret

    January 14, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Yes, it’s just random words, which isn’t so much the problem, it’s when you reach the end of the line there’s a moment of hesitation before a new line appears and that throws me for about a second or so.

     
  9. Pete Tzinski

    January 14, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    What I do,when I don’t know the next word (like reaching the end of the line) — and I do this when I write too and have to pause — is I’m lightly drumming my fingers on the keys anyway. Not usually on purpose, it’s just constant motion. I don’t know if it helps any, but there you go.

     
  10. tjwriter

    January 15, 2008 at 8:47 am

    It seems I am way out of practice. I’m going to go cry in the corner now. When I have achieve an acceptable score, I’ll post.

    Did you lot have a lot of mistakes? I find I have to waste precious time correcting any mistakes because I’m anal like that.

     
  11. Shadow Ferret

    January 15, 2008 at 8:53 am

    I was doing it last night in the hopes of beating Pete, but got a 61 and a 75 and then I quit. My biorhythms must on a downslide.

     
  12. tjwriter

    January 15, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Typer Shark or whatever that Yahoo game is called is quite fun and gives you great typing practice.

    It seems I need to go play it.

     
  13. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 9:56 am

    I find I vary depending on the keyboard I’m using, the amount of coffee I’ve had, and that test was strange – took me a good three tries to figure out I had to hit the “return” key to get another line to type.

    Hey, it was MONDAY, okay! Sheesh.

     
  14. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Hit the return key, or the space bar. Silly. πŸ˜‰

    I didn’t post my mistakes, it didn’t occur to me. In the test where I did 108 WPM, it listed me as having made two errors. I know there were a couple of other times where I mistyped, backspaced and fixed it, and then went on. The two errors were ones where I went ahead faster than it occurred to me to go back and fix.

    The test was done on a laptop keyboard. A GOOD laptop keyboard (some aren’t), but I want to hook up my good writing other keyboard and see what I get. I always go faster on that one.

     
  15. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I wonder how fast the Stoneage keyboard will be πŸ˜€ Made especially difficult by the fact that no key will have a letter on it.

     
  16. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    You know, my only concern about Stoneage keyboard is that the stone will be too thick and sturdy and snap some of the less-sturdy plastic bits underneath it. Keyboards aren’t exactly made tough (unfortunately).

     
  17. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Well typically I cut a button with a 1/4″ depth. Depending on the Mohs scale, taking hardness into account, they’re no heavier than a penny and the same radius.

    BUT – I’ve considered that issue, and it could be an issue. Mayhaps instead of a Stoneage keyboard, I should be building a Buttonage keyboard πŸ˜€

     
  18. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Are you going to polish the stone? What sort of stone are you going to use?

    I was thinking last night that button-size keys made out of a sort of granite, with a rough sort of feel to it, might be a delight to type on in a way that smooth-keys aren’t in a regular keyboard. (I might also be nuts.)

     
  19. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Well, you know I’m a lapidary, right? I use agate and jaspers, granite doesn’t take a polish well enough in a tumbler – and with agates and jaspers I can use different colors/styles for different keys. Imagine your vowels in amythest sage agate, while your consonates are in picture jasper, your function keys in a nice hematite while your numbers stand out in graveyard point plume agate πŸ˜€

     
  20. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    Oh, I know granite doesn’t polish, that’s what got me thinking. I frequently have pieces of granite lying around (St. Cloud is called Granite City. You can’t go anywhere without hitting the stuff…) and I love the FEEL of it, not least because you can’t polish it.

    (I suppose with a diamond sander, you could smooth it out easy, like you do with granite tile and countertop work…)

    I REALLY like the idea of a multicolored keyboard.

     
  21. tjwriter

    January 15, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Now I want a keyboard made of stones. Sheesh.

     
  22. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Maybe, depending on how her first one comes out, Kristine will sell them. *NUDGE* πŸ˜‰

     
  23. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Actually, depending on how this one comes out, Kristine might very well do that πŸ˜€

     
  24. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    And as long as I’m nudging you…may I nudge you into posting pictures of it, as you go about constructing it? Under-Construction Pictures are fun to go through. I love seeing how things are made. Especially when they are things outside of my ability to make (i.e., anything which is not tea)

     
  25. tjwriter

    January 15, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    So long as they don’t cost a bajillion dollars.

     
  26. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    That would be fun, sure. So far I’m only at the “dismantled a keyboard” stage.

     
  27. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Oh, well for me – hell, if I actually manage this, and CAN make a functioning keyboard using polished agates for keys, I wouldn’t charge more than the keyboard cost, the cost of the diamond cutting burs that it took me and shipping.

    I can see something like this costing no more than a couple hundred bucks, tops.

     
  28. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Which, for the product, isn’t actually all that bad.

    Eccentrically pimped keyboards. Hm. I wish I could do something like that, but nobody would buy a Tea-Coated Keyboard (which I inadvertantly make, because your faithful author is clumsy and inattentive.)

     
  29. tjwriter

    January 15, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    but a keyboard with keys cut like tea leaves would be interesting.

     
  30. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Might even be less. Those basic keyboards are pretty cheap, it just depends on how many buttons I could get out of each burr, and postage to send it out.

    Might even be less.

     
  31. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Technically, once i figured out how this all works, you can replace the tops of the keys with anything that: a) fits and b) you don’t mind striking with your fingers.

     
  32. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    You could replace the keys with FINGERS! And then….and…

    *leaves in disgrace*

     
  33. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    *sigh*

    But buttons would be cute, for the typist who loves to sew. A button covered keyboard could be done quickly and very cheaply, well under $100.00 I would imagine.

     
  34. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I would LOVE a metallic-buttoned keyboard. I was just staring at my keyboard and realized that fitted keys that all fit together (like laptop keyboards) but made of brushed steel, or something, would be really fun to type on. Maybe.

     
  35. tjwriter

    January 15, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Just so long as they have the little notches on the F and J keys so I know where to set my fingers. That’s how I find my keyboard in the dark when my daughter won’t let me pull the keyboard tray out.

     
  36. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Bumps and grooves can be made, easily, in the rock. I presume something could be done in buttons.

    Pete, I had a notion to make one with steel bolt heads as keys.

     
  37. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Another thing one could market, more easily and less expensively, would be the keys/pegs themselves, and let the buyer supply his/her own keyboard and installation. Keys are easy to pop off, then you just plop these shafted buggers in the hole, and you’re typin’. It matters not what key goes in what hole.

    So that even a custom ordered keyboard, with color coding, could be changed around at the typist’s whim and notion.

     
  38. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Okay, that would be pretty cool. I wonder how comfortable any of these potential designs would be to type on. For example, I wonder what WPM you’d get off that test from one of these keyboards.

     
  39. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    You’ll have to let us know when you try one out πŸ˜€ I’m going to include a sample button in your next letter, which hits the mail box tomorrow, so you can see what these agate buttons would look like. Contemplate how hard/easy that would be to hit with your finners.

     
  40. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Hmm. I could strip some keys down off an old keyboard, use the connector bit off the bottom, attach with some sort of glue (is the agate porous?) and then actually mount it onto the keyboard. That would be very interesting.

    Actually, what would be REALLY cool that you’ve gotten me thinking, is this:

    Build a custom-made wood desk. Underneath the wood surface (just underneath it, like, RIGHT under the surface), mount a keyboard with no keys attached. Make flat-topped keys out of the same wood as the desk (I’m thinking a good cherry wood here), and attach them in place. Hell, you could wood-burn the letters into the top of them easily enough. The wood keys, when mounted, should be exactly on level with the desk. The keyboard would be built right in. And if it’s a USB keyboard, then it would be easily disconnected from the computer, in case you don’t want to accidentally hit buttons. Hell, if you set it just a little tiny bit (not even half an inch, much less) below the surface of the desk, then you could lay a sheet of glass across the keyboard surface, and the desk is suddenly usable as a regular desk, for handwriting, or what have you.

    Oh man. *drools at the thought*

     
  41. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    You can use an epoxy to affix an agate to any surface. Easily purchased at your art supply stores, E-6000 is the name.

    As for the wood desk > my abilities, but way cool, dude !

     
  42. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I don’t know how hard the wood desk would actually be to do, though. And I don’t think it would be hugely expensive. It’s harder to think about than to build, I suspect. (I also have an idea using the laser projection keyboard I learned about a couple weeks ago, but that’s practically a blog entry in and of itself).

    I was pretty sure I could just use epoxy, but I wanted to make sure. I know more about woodworking than stoneworking… πŸ™‚

     
  43. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    I gave all my woodworking tools to my stepfather, who now happily makes bird houses. But gimmie a rock and I’m good to go πŸ˜€

     
  44. tjwriter

    January 15, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    My husband does some neat woodworking stuff. But I really like the idea of stone.

     
  45. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    I am, as we speak…well, writing. BUT! Later, I’m building a nice entertainment center out of an old fishtank stand. I’m very proud. I’ve been watching too much Discovery Home.

    I dig the idea of stone too. Especially since, up ’till this discussion, I hadn’t properly considered the idea that they would be different colored stones. I got a dark gray (almost slate) color stuck in my head, and didn’t think beyond it. Now that I am, I think it’s so much cooler.

     
  46. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    We’re going to be an eccentric group of published authors who preach Handwriting while marketing a line of custom computer keyboards πŸ˜€

     
  47. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    “You should ONLY HANDWRITE! BUT! You should buy this keyboard. Just in case you FAIL.” πŸ™‚

    I am both against technology, and enjoy new technologies no end. And I have justified the two against each other just fine. But that’s probably another long blog post where, at the end, I am called crazy and told off, and then later discovered to be, er, right. πŸ˜›

     
  48. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    I’m going to mail you samples, Pete. Tori, would you like a few samples? Granted, there’s no proof yet that I can DO this, but damn I’m determined to try.

     
  49. tjwriter

    January 15, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Sure, you can mail me samples. Makes for good times. I’ll email you my address later tonight. Or you can make Pete email it you right now.

     
  50. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    NAG, NAG, NAG.

     
  51. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    (helpful address e-mail now sent)

     
  52. tjwriter

    January 15, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    You are in the same kind of mood today, eh, Pete?

     
  53. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Plus, these samples can be worn as necklaces πŸ˜€

    Well, Tori can. And Mrs. Pete can. I only have one actual button-shaped sample right now, I’ll send that to Pete to see if he thinks it would work. I might have to make smaller versions.

     
  54. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    I was in a terrific mood, and then I saw something on a blog, and it put me in a black mood, and now I’m on a contemplative mood. and I’m a general weird mood, because some pieces clicked together and now I’m really, really tempted to try doing an online serial again.

    Thank god I have weirdo keyboard conversation to distract me. πŸ˜€

     
  55. tjwriter

    January 15, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    I’m nosy and I’m wondering what put you in a black mood, but I finally figured out what to do with my WIP, so I was frantically writing during my lunch break, only to be interrupted to do work during the middle of lunch. It seems one is not allowed to have a quiet lunch at the workspace with being expected to work, too.

    Also, I wrote a letter to husband because it was the only way I could think of to express my feelings here of late (big long story about my evolution), so with that off my chest, I am feeling much, much better.

    Plus I am ordering pizza for supper, so there is no cooking tonight. Yay!

    So my mood is really weird, too.

     
  56. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    I’d quite like some pizza. πŸ˜€ And there is nothing better than figuring out what to do with a novel. Even when it’s a sticking point you didn’t realize you were having. For example, I just realized what stumped me on my current scene of the Nondescript (too many characters) and how to fix it (erase all the non-speaking parts from the scene. Maybe. I think I can fix it the way it is.)

     
  57. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    I’ve been in a black mood for days now, the subject of which is talked about on CD tomorrow – how to use these emotions. I like getting obsessed over keyboard issues as a way to distract me from unhelpful issues.

     
  58. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I used to channel black moods wonderfully into writing. The older I get, the more I just sit and be angry without motion.

     
  59. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    P.S.

    Kristine? Your keyboard project will be easier if your keyboard isn’t on this scale

     
  60. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Too big, ya think?

    πŸ˜€

     
  61. Pete Tzinski

    January 15, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    I would burn an amazing number of calories, trying to type a comment like this, hopping from letter to letter. On the other hand, I doubt I’d make any spelling errors… πŸ™‚

     
  62. mymidnightmuse

    January 15, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    If you did, you’d be pissed !

     
  63. tjwriter

    January 15, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    LOL! That is huge.

     

Leave a Reply

 
