RSS

Music, please

31 Jan

It’s time for me to send you looking for new, and old, music. It’s a cheap excuse to talk about bands I like.

First up is the winner of the Eurovision contest (the contest which made Abba famous). This band won in 2006. Don’t expect them to be anything even remotely close to Abba, they really aren’t. I never recommend them to anyone — and really am not recommending ’em to you — because I think it’s a pretty specific taste. You either like this sort of stuff, or you don’t. But it makes me happy, so I share it with you.

First, we have the catchy song, Hard Rock Hallelujah

Next, we have my personal favorite, Devil Is A Loser

Next up, some Iron Maiden. Up in Irons! Look, I love Iron Maiden. I have for a long time. And if I’m recommending music, I heartily suggest any writers or readers out there go buy their album Brave New World, and see how many literary references you can spot. And that’s if you think about it, amidst the really catchy music. It’s book-writing music. That is, it makes you want to write a book. I’ve done two short stories based on this CD.

The song I’m offering you by Iron Maiden is live. Normally, I do either music videos or find the actual song, even if it’s overlayed someone’s silly video montage. But Iron Maiden is sometimes even better live than recorded. One of my favorite Iron Maiden songs is Fear of the Dark. I dont’ like the studio version at all. I always seek out live editions.

Here, a live edition, from 2001, of Fear of the Dark.

Finally, two video offerings from another favorite band of mine, Black Label Society.

I like ’em for a lot of reasons. They (by “they,” I mean Zakk Wylde) are just good solid hard rock, in the vein of Ozzy. Except that I like BLS, whereas Ozzy tends to have about one good song per CD. (except for No More Tears. God what a terrific album).

Here’s Stillborn, a song I could have sworn was Ozzy, until I found out who Black Label Society really was.

And here’s In This River, which is a quieter song (dedicated to Pantera’s Dimebag Darrell, if you’re interested), and which is very pretty. If you want to check out a good BLS CD, get Mafia. It’s a good place to start.

There you go. Some music! We at Tzinski WordPress Bloggy Thing are not responsible for any corniness in the music videos.

ADDENDUM: And here’s one of my all-time favorite Ozzy songs, since I mentioned him. Off of the terrific album “No More Tears,” here is Road to Nowhere.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Music, please

  1. Shadow Ferret

    January 31, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Well, I’ll take a listen to these and see. I must thank you for turning me on to My Chemical Romance, though. The Black Parade is every bit as good as you said it was.

    Strangely, as much as I love metal, I have never owned anything by Iron Maiden.

    And as far as BLS, I’m not a huge fan of Zakk Wilde. I think he has that one note that he plays over and over again. You know the note. He wammies it several times in Ozzy tunes and I’ve begun to hear other bands imitate that one note.

     
  2. Pete Tzinski

    January 31, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    I know EXACTLY the note you mean. But I don’t mind. It’s his signature. And the rest of the songs, like Stillborn, are just so catchy. Listen, if you haven’t previously.

    “Is this Ozzy?” I’ll say while we’re listening to the radio in the car. And if it’s a song I don’t know, I’ll listen and go “There’s the whammy, so this is post-No More Tears. That’s Zakk, this must be Ozzy.” or “Nope, no, that must be Jake E. Lee, or Randy Rhoades.”

    Rhoades was a brilliant guitarist, but so much less recognizable than Zakk. And not only because of that note.

    I dunno. *I* like BLS.

    (And I knew you’d go for My Chemical Romance. I keep explaining to people that they are the modern equivalent of the old Alice Cooper band, and people don’t get exactly what I mean. But they really are. Especially with that CD.)

     
  3. mymidnightmuse

    January 31, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    I’m going to take a listen this evening to BLS – they sound interesting. I LIKE My Chemical Romance. I’ve only started collecting Nightwish CD’s, but the one I put in my sister’s car for the ride home from the store won’t come out – she won’t let me have it.

    But that’s okay, we take her car a lot 😀

     
  4. Shadow Ferret

    February 1, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Finally listened to the first two. Wow. You’re right. They aren’t anything like ABBA. They look like an evil KISS. Good music.

    I remember the Eurovision song contest from a Monty Python skit, although I can’t remember the skit now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
