RSS

Twenty-One Days

31 Jan

I read this fascinating article and adored the idea. Go have a look. Then come back.

Neat idea, huh? Well, as much as I liked it, I was suspicious. It sounded like one of those “How To Lose Twenty Pounds In Just Ten Days!” articles that are just full of mindlessly optimistic things that, er, don’t work. But I did some further digging and I couldn’t find anything on this that made me snort and disprove.

Twenty one days. Do something for twenty days without missing a beat (and if you do miss a beat, start the whole twenty-one day cycle over again) and you’ll make a habit of it. And then, after the end of the twenty-one days, start ANOTHER twenty-one day cycle. It’ll be easier this time. You’ll be settled.

So what the heck. It sounds like fun. I’m going to do it, starting tomorrow. (Or try. It may all collapse, depending on Zach, life, getting a job, becoming destitute and living on the street, etc, etc).

From February 1st, through February 21st, I am going to write 3,000 words a day. And I am going to try to submit one something every day too. But that’s less vital. 3,000 words. Every day. For twenty-one days.

I am not going to limit myself. I can do short stories. I can work on a novel. No articles, because they come as smooth and easy and worry free as stories used to (and they don’t bother me when I’m not writing them, like fiction does). But short stories and novelistic bits.

Every day, for twenty-one days, I will post here. I may not post much more than “I did my 3,000 words today, and submitted X Story to Y Magazine.” But every day, I will declare it, and that’s important. At least to me.

If I DON’T, feel free to badger me, feel my comment trails with offers to lengthen my pen-fifteen, and send me insulting e-mails or LolCatz calling me a turkey.

Starting tomorrow. Let’s see how I do.

(this isn’t a contest, it isn’t related to Castle Debacle, there is no winning and no prizes, and it’s just me, and maybe that’s good right now. I’m lousy as a writer right now. Really miserable. The thrill is gone, as B.B. King said, and something’s got to get me back on track, or else something’s gotta give. So maybe this will work. Boy, I hope so. Anyway, feel free to do it along with me, or just do it separately. It sounds like a nifty method.)

And now, I’m off to make dinner!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Twenty-One Days

  1. mymidnightmuse

    February 1, 2008 at 9:11 am

    I hadn’t ever given much thought to the 21 days idea, but I can attest to the routine of something for a few weeks without fail definitely turns it into a habit you don’t want to stop. I’ve done that with other things – like staying organized once I’ve gone to much trouble to clean things up and put things in order, after about a month of maintaining that it becomes a part of me.

    There are a few things I’d like to get into the habit of doing daily, writing a particular word count every day being one of them – but I’m sure 3,000 is too pie-in-the-sky for me personally. Since some of those days will be crappy, some busy, etc. But I’m sure I could manage 1,000 a day, with 500 per day being fiction without fail, while the other 500 could be anything. That’s an idea (seeing as how I’m still handwriting Ether).

    Working on the new keyboards, every day, that would be a doable goal for me 😀

     
  2. Shadow Ferret

    February 1, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Pete, man, I’m sorry that the thrill is gone. And I hope that whatever you do to try to get it back works.

    Maybe you’re justing thinking about it too hard and need to relax and just let it flow naturally. As you’re blogging attests, you seem to be spending an awful lot of time thinking about writing instead of just doing it.

    Granted, I haven’t had any personal conversations with you, so I can’t tell your true state of mind.

    Good luck.

     
  3. rllgthunder

    February 2, 2008 at 7:28 am

    “…feel free to badger me, feel my comment trails with offers to lengthen my pen-fifteen,…”

    Dude. That’s perverted. 😛

     
  4. Pete Tzinski

    February 2, 2008 at 8:15 am

    That’s my spam box offers me…!

     

Leave a Reply

 
