RSS

Music, please – Part 2

08 Feb

I’ve only got one band to offer you today, because I’m running a little low on time and they crossed my mind yesterday.

Now, if at first you think you don’t like ’em, keep listening. Some bands repay the effort you put into them, just like good books. This band is very much one of them. (Just like some people don’t like My Chemical Romance because they seem to fall into that silly emo category, when in reality they’re just terrific rock in the vein of the Alice Cooper Band back in the ’70s).

Today, I offer you Gnarls Barkley.

I made fun of ’em at first. Nobody laughed at the joke, but it wasn’t hugely funny (“Gnarls Barkley? When do we get Gnichael Jordan and Gnarry Byrd?”). But then, their first single “Crazy” grew on me, when I let it, and I got their album. And was happily floored.

Here. Go listen to Crazy while we talk. It’s a terrific song, lyrics and all. And make sure that you watch the video too, it’s gorgeous.

I happily think that Gnarls Barkley is one of the most powerful artistic forces out there right now. They are two extremely talented men who came together and who are doing nothing but making really stunning music, sounding really good live, and wearing peculiar clothing.

Here’s another song by them, “Gone, Daddy Gone”

On the album, there aren’t any bad songs. There also aren’t any particularly similar songs. Everything from “Go Go Gadget Hospital” to “Monster in my Closet” have terrific sounds and lyrics and nothing in common with each other. And at the same time, they all belong on this CD and distinctly belong to this band. It’s nice to see a cohesive album made, and not a jumbled collection of potential singles. Also, they are not Paris Hilton. What’s not to love?

What inspired me to write about them is that the first single from their second album was leaked yesterday, and I was through the roof.

From the album “The Odd Couple,” here’s the next single, “Run.” Go listen now, because it may not stay up very long (or, it may stay up permenantly. Who can say?)

Come on. I was right about Nightwish, wasn’t I? I was right about My Chemical Romance. I was right that Lordi was nothing at all like Abba. Clearly, I am right about Gnarls Barkley. Go jam.

BONUS MUSIC RECOMMENDATION! Because it’s just one song, but I happen to like it. There aren’t many rap songs I like. It’s a really, really small number. No, smaller. The old-school classic, “Mama Said Knock You Out,” never gets old, though.

ADDENDUM: How could I not provide a link to Gnarls Barkley’s video for “Smiley Faces” which is just fun to watch. See how many places you can pick out Danger Mouse and Cee-Lo (you know; the guys who make up Gnarls Barkley)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Music, please – Part 2

  1. mymidnightmuse

    February 8, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Ooh, “Gone Daddy Gone” is one of my favorites 🙂 I don’t own any of it, but I always have enjoyed Gnarls Barkley.

     
  2. Shadow Ferret

    February 8, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    Um, I hate to say this, but Gnarls Barkley is one of those bands that when their song comes on the radio, I can’t change the dial fast enough.

     
  3. Pete Tzinski

    February 8, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Hence the bit where I said “Now, if at first you think you don’t like ‘em, keep listening. Some bands repay the effort you put into them, just like good books. This band is very much one of them.”

     
  4. Shadow Ferret

    February 8, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Yes, I know what you said. I’ve heard Crazy a million times. It doesn’t get better with age.

     

Leave a Reply

 
