RSS

On not being dead.

02 Aug

I am not actually dead. I’ve just fallen off parts of the internet. It’s what I tend to do, when things get too busy and I have to start collapsing life to make it functional again, if you see what I mean. Blog activity tends to go away, both commenting and writing entries for. I always regret it, because I quite like blogging.

What busyness, perhaps you ask? Well, there’s Zach (that’s my son, if you’ve forgotten). He’s a toddler. Enough said. For being someone rather short and weak who toddles, he can do more destruction than I can, and I’m a large and well-meaning author. If ever I wanted to break into a high-security bank vault, I would just put the child down in front of it and tell him, crossly, that I do not want him to go into that locked vault. ANd then I’d go get some tea. It would be open by the time I got back.

What else…well, I launched Edge of the Universe with a friend of mine. It was a huge amount of work (and it was collapsed in upon itself too, when the other items on this list presented themselves, and I had to make it all work somehow). I’m writing God in the Machine and Book of Grey primarily. New Rome is a novel which has installment-chapters going up regularly. I’m enjoying it.

I had to collapse the network a bit when, suddenly, my novel The Neon God presented itself again and said “I need to be written. I need to be finished” and suddenly, I urgently had to get it done. I’ve been hard at work on it, trying to parse out what I mean through all manner of different drafts, trying to puzzle my way through being a different writer who’s attempted to write it at different stages. But it’s going well.

(I race, most week-days, against Kristine Williams, via e-mail. We see who can write more while she’s at work and I’m home alone. We’re about tied. But the perk is, we’re each doing about 6,000 words of good fiction a day. One beautiful blessed day, I did 10,000 words. That was a good day.)

Additionally, I seem to be going back to university this fall. End of August, for my Bachelor’s degree in Literature (and, beyond that…assuming I’ve survived…my Master’s). Combine that with the fact that I’ve got to get a part-time job somewhere in all this muckity, to help with the household bills, and oof. You wonder why I haven’t blogged?

Well, now I’ve blogged.

No promises for when the next entry will come along. When I have time and energy and can construct a sentence outside of fiction, probably.

And now, I go to make dinner.

*happy wave*

P.S. I have turned the comment system back on. No honest.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “On not being dead.

  1. Pete Tzinski

    August 2, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    At least, I think I have.

     
  2. Southernwriter

    August 2, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    And here I invited you to a forum I’m on now…boy do I feel stupid! Good luck with all the writing, all the mountains and mountains of it…don’t bury yourself in it, or that toddler. He might make it out alive but an overworked author will give up after the first few mountains 🙂

    Just kidding, happy writing Pete!

     
  3. Pete Tzinski

    August 2, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Oh, don’t feel stupid. How could you have known? I’ve more or less fallen off the internets, after all. And in my opinion, MOUNTAINS of work are, for a writer, much better than molehills of work. You learn more, you get more done, and if you do it right, you have fun.

    I quite like the look of the forums you sent me. Very beautiful, I thought. I don’t know what free time I have (I can always dock some from the “brushing hair” category since I never do that) but I may be able to faff around and be useful there.

     
  4. tjwriter

    August 6, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    It’s weird to comment here again. Glad to see your still alive, kicking, and doing interesting stuff. (I very much miss university. Education and I love each other.)

    This year’s been a bitter hell for me. Go figure. I’ve not been productive or moved toward hardly any of my goals.

    *Goes off to whine by herself so nobody else has to hear it.*

     

Leave a Reply

 
