RSS

Total abuse of the heart

09 Aug

Last night, Amber — one of my friends, down the hall, Jeremy’s fiance, do try to keep up here — declared that we should come along with them to a county fair, and my wife and I shrugged and said sure. Mostly because we haven’t been to very many fairs.

It was less of a hillbilly affair than we had previously seen, in Nevada. Plenty of hillbillies here, but they were nice and amiable folks. In Nevada, they’re all spoiling for a fight.

Jeremy indicated a snack food that was the FINEST THING EVER MADE, and so I found myself eating deep-fried cheese curds. They were quite good, they were sort of like mozzerella sticks…except cheesier, and with less breading. Look, it’s deep-fried cheese curds, that’s the end of it. Mostly, at the end of eating them, I could feel my heart going “Eeep…whatever I did to you, I’m sorry…please get these out of my valves.”

I also had mini-donuts, deep fried. And a corn dog, probably deep fried.

You could live in fair food, but not for very long at all.

I was also Spoken To for having never had cotton candy before. This happens a lot to me, between my wife, Jeremy and Amber. There are many things I’ve never tried (fair enough, they’d never had Jambalaya before me…and there is a wealth of food, like Shepard’s Pie, that they still haven’t had). So Jeremy and Amber bought a big bag of multi-colored cotton candy, after yelling at me for not having had it before. And then they made me eat it.

It was sort of like eating the insulation that they put in your attic. Dipped in sugar syrup.

And this entry would have been much longer, had the phone not gone off. And so now, I must run. More later. Honest.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Total abuse of the heart

  1. tjwriter

    August 10, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Fair food, festival food, it’s all so grand. And there are some things you can feel clogging your artieries as you’re eating them, but so long as it’s not often, enjoy it!

    Here we have the Fall Festival the first full week of October. I love going while pregnant because I can go eat an ton of not so healthy stuff and thoroughly enjoy it. http://www.nutclub.org/

    My entries keep getting interrupted by the phone, too. Or a toddler. Or should I say preschooler? She starts preschool one day a week soon. She’s growing up too fast!

     
  2. Pete Tzinski

    August 10, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    I like festivals. I’m going to my first-ever Renaissance Festival later this month, to experience a crawling horror of a crowd and deep-fried everything and people doing awful Oylde Englisshe and selling interesting things. I’m really looking forward to it.

    And they DO grow up too fast. Zach is getting to about the area where we have to start getting him off the bottle (the doctor tells us, although every mother we know has admonished us for trying to get him away from the bottle at one year old, suggesting that we’ve got another several months-to-a-year before that’s needed). Mostly, he’s grouchy.

    They grow up waaaay too fast, and then you look back and realize that it was two days ago that they were born, and now they’re off to college.

     
  3. tjwriter

    August 10, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    So true. Around the one year mark Piper dropped all her bottles except the one right before bed. With her being so skinny and all, I just used the Enfamily Next Steps for that one bottle because it was more calorie dense. Eventually she just stopped wanting it.

    They know when they are ready to give up something. If I could just convince her now that she doesn’t need a pacifier. No blanket or other lovey. She attached herself to the pacifier.

     
  4. Pete Tzinski

    August 10, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    We were pretty lucky there. Zach never bonded with a particular blanket, or a pacifier even a little. Even when he was first born, there was next to no interest in pacifiers, we stopped bothering to even attempt ’em after the first month or so.

    And yeah, we’ve done what you’ve done — his daytime bottles are gone, and he’s got enough other food that he’s fine by it. We give him a bottle before bed, partially to fill him up and mostly because it makes him calm and still and gets him ready for bed.

    (I say, having just put him down and, now sitting in my office, I can hear him jumping in the crib, so it clearly settled him down loads…)

     
  5. tjwriter

    August 12, 2008 at 7:30 am

    You completed your part of the bedtime ritual with the bottle, now he has to complete his.

     

Leave a Reply

 
