RSS

Possibly Zen

16 Oct

There’s something funny and magical about…

A crazy Jesus-nutter standing on a small hill, on a college campus, with a big sign and some bibles, preaching to the students as they walk by, going on about God knows what (and I suspect that God is up there going “What…the hell, dude…? Is this guy one of OURS? I didn’t think so.”)

That’s not the funny magical bit.

The funny magical bit is the irate art student, or students, who come out to argue with the crazy preacher guy.

The funny magical bit, therefore, is a group of students who look homeless and — thanks to various substances — are not actually on this planet…arguing against someone who isn’t even on THEIR planet, and who can’t touch bottom with a ten foot pole.

Tell me, grasshopper, what is the importance of new Crazies Debating?

Anyway, it’s only funny and magical if you’re at a good walking pace, and you smile in amusement and then keep on moving. I suspect if I’d actually stopped, it would have ended with my teeth in someone’s throat.

But why would I stop? It’s cold outside! Geeze!

I finished reading “Ilium” over the past two days, in marathon reading sessions of hundreds of pages each. The book left me breathless and stunned, on a cliffhanger of sorts, and now I’m finding it hard to get into another book. I just want to read the follow-up book “Olympos,” and keep going.

I love that no matter how much I’ve read over the years, I can still come across new untouched authors whom I get into and find myself going “How did I LIVE without reading you!”

Dan Simmons is definitely one of those. Poppy Z. Brite and her amazing New Orleans restuarant books are another.

Books. You can’t beat ’em. Even when you put them on a Kindle and take away the mother-lovin’ page numbers…you can’t beat books.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 16, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Possibly Zen

  1. mymidnightmuse

    October 19, 2009 at 9:30 am

    So read Olympos, and I’ll read The Terror, and we’ll see who . . . Nah, who am I kidding? You read, like, a hundred times faster than I do !

    And The Terror is a friggin’ doorstop! But I’m starting it today.

     

Leave a Reply

 
