RSS

Adieu

31 Oct

(“Adieu” comes from Old French and was originally “Dieu vous commant” which means ‘I commend you to God.’ If you were wondering. Google is a wonderful friend.)

This is it. This is my last blog post. I begin my writing adventure (and race!) on Sunday, november 1st at 12:01AM. Tomorrow, though, my wonderful wife has the day off of work. So I’m vanishing after this evening, will spend tomorrow enjoying her company and my son’s. I’ll make my preparations, tuck away the books I have scattered around the house, do all the little bits I’ll be doing to keep myself away from the world, while I write.

Due to the fickle nature of Mr. Internet, you may all even forget I exist before I get back, but I hope not. Anyway, if you do, I’ll just turn up and reinsert myself.

I’m terribly excited for this grand new experiment, and more than a bit nervous. No internet, no books, no television watching by myself (what little I did of that), no video games, no text messages, and so forth. In essence, nothing much beyond 1) the Novel 2) the notebook of Novel notes.

the reason I’m nervous is, I’ve never gone without books before. That’s scary. AND because I’m doing this “until I’m done,” rather than a week, or a month, or whatever. That’s a bit frightening. And thrilling.

So that’s that. I was going to do a rather long post (and I got 1,200 words further into it than this), but I couldn’t finish it. It’s no word of a lie to say I’m exhausted, it’s after midnight, and I can’t think enough to write further on this. So instead, I’m afraid I’m just going to bed.

Adieu, Adieu, to you and you and you.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Adieu

  1. mymidnightmuse

    October 31, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    SloMoNoNo

     
  2. Shadow Ferret

    November 6, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    You mean you won’t even reply to emails?

     

Leave a Reply

 
