RSS

What do you mean BACK?

30 Nov

Yep, I’m back.

Nope, book’s not done yet.

But that’s okay. I have various reasons for being back (none of which make a very interesting blog post.)

But one simple fact is…during my Time Away, I shifted my writing completely to handwritten, and it was a transition (which I’ve made back and forth before) which piled atop of a couple of other revelatory shifts that sort of turned into a huge paradigm shift in the way I work.

For awhile now, it’s felt like my ideas, both quantity and scope, were seriously outclassing my writing ability. They were heavier than my muscles could quite cope with. I’ve been off for about a month (NOT COMPETING in NaNo, sheesh, world, people DO write in November without being involved in that…) and learned and understood an awful lot in that time.

It was a very, very good month.

So. Right now, I’ve handed my wife control of my e-mail and internettery. And I’m happily restricted (having restricted myself, with her help) in this fashion: each day, I produce 7 pages of handwritten material. That’s roughly 2,000 words (sometimes more, sometimes less…my handwriting does not have a 12.pt setting to maintain after all). When I’ve done the seven pages and she gets home, I can go on. I can Twitter, I can Blog, I can e-mail, I can do all that jazz.

If I fail to produce my number of pages, then I don’t get no internet that day. Yesterday, for example. I totally failed. No internet. Today? Great success. And here I am blogging.

So, like, yeah.

I’ve got a couple of e-mails to send at people over the next couple of days.  And a novel to keep pouring into.

(Another thing I did: I have deliberately let all the stories that were out on submission come back and NOT be sent out. Nor will they be. I plan to take them all, strip them down to their girders — or garters, depending on if stories are boats or women to you — and then rebuild them from the ground up. Thank goodness none of them sold. But that comes after the completion of the novel. )

Feels good to be back, good to be writing regularly, good to be enthusiastic and IN LOVE with writing again (both the process and the puzzle and the product).

So, here I am.

Now…if I’m here, then where is the TEA?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “What do you mean BACK?

  1. Shadow Ferret

    December 2, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    I have a feeling, if I want to communicate, that I’m going to have to go old school and buy some stamps.

     
  2. Lori

    December 19, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    He sometimes e-mails you back if you write him.

    Glad to hear the writing is going well, Pete.

     

Leave a Reply

 
