RSS

Late night grumble

04 Jan

I always wind up grumpy and frustrated when I get no writing done during the day (because sometimes, the housework that needs doing, and the child who needs company, don’t allow it;  sometimes I’m ruthless and get the writing done despite the child, but I’m not a very ruthless person). I get no writing done during the day and reassure myself that that night, I’ll stay up late and get it all done.

Some nights, that’s true. Plenty of nights, actually. But then there’s nights like this, where I was nearly dozing off on the couch, and will go fast asleep after publishing this.

I intensely dislike it when I bank on myself and don’t come through.

Particularly when the work is piling up.

Ah well. Pay me no heed. I’m just complaining. If it were a bar, I’d be sitting at the corner, griping over my beer at the bartender and the television, neither of whom would be paying me any attention.

Tomorrow. Lots done tomorrow. For reals.

David Tennant is finished as the Doctor. We watched his last stand this afternoon. My eyes were more than a little misty by the end. The actual plot, with the Time-Lords and the Master, wasn’t all that great. But it somehow didn’t matter, because Tennant and Bernard Cribbins carried the episode, and the last half-an-hour or so was heartbreaking and amazing. And I’m looking forward to seeing what happens next.

Unlike everyone else I know. Sheesh. My wife, and Kristine both dislike, or make grumbly noises about the new Doctor. Well, someone once said that everyone winds up with a favorite Doctor, against who the following ones don’t compare. I suspect theirs is David Tennant. I suspect mine is too, but I enjoy the show enough that even as I mourn his passing, I’m excited to see the next stories.

Okay. Bed-time, you cold, cold, cold world.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Late night grumble

  1. mymidnightmuse

    January 4, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    My eyes weren’t “misting” – as I watched the final episode of Dave Tennant’s 10th Doctor – I wept.

    WEPT, I tell you! It ripped my heart right out of my chest! And not just because it was Tennant’s last episode as The Doctor, but because it was so heartbreakingly well done.

    I WEPT !

     
  2. MisterBastard

    January 5, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Someday, when the urge hits to jackhammer open the concrete piggy-bank, MisterBastard will subscribe to cable and hopefully understand, doctor, who David Tennant is.

    (Note the whimsical play on words in that last sentence?)

     

Leave a Reply

 
