RSS

iPad, uPad, we ALL Pad…along quietly despite the restraining order.

27 Jan

So, I spent a happy morning watching the unveiling of the iPad, the new Apple gadget. I like it. It’s what I want in an eBook reader, more than the Kindle/Sony/Nook world (which I described as “Imitation Book” in my SF Signal article that seemed to have uniformly ticked-off Twitter, much to my quiet delight.)

That said, as much as I love the gadget…

…my favorite piece of technology is my Extra Fine Nib Lamy Vista fountain pen, with blue-black glass bottle of ink from Parker, and a small converter piston cartridge. And this lovely hardback-with-page-ribbon Piccadilly notebook I’m writing in.

Sorry Apple. You can’t be that. (Of course, they aren’t trying to, so I have no complaints).

That’s really all I came to say. I’m sort of busy, but not a lot of it’s useful. Tonight, I’m going to work on this spookshow story some more.

I need to write every day. I need it to make me a more relaxed person, I need it to produce the huge backlog of fiction that’s in my head, I need it because I’m a writer and it’s what I do.

Of course, having kids and housework and things doesn’t make it any easier than having a full-on day job would. But you do what you can, and that’s good enough.

That’s it from me. I’m going to go have black tea-with-mango-leaves. Tomorrow, Lor’ willin an’ the creek dun rise, I’ll manage to make another post. I want to. I want to share Handy Science Answers with you, from my Handy Science Answer Book. I adore that thing.

P.S., wherever you are in the world…it’s, like, twenty-below zero outside and physically hurts exposed skin after more than ten seconds. If you are wearing anything less than two sweaters and are comfortable….do not you dare complain about the weather!!! huff huff huff

& now to drink hot tea.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “iPad, uPad, we ALL Pad…along quietly despite the restraining order.

  1. mymidnightmuse

    January 28, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Yeah, don’t get me started about the weather! Gawd, it was downright chilly this morning, a low of 42F. I nearly had to wear a sweater to work. As it was, I got away with a nice long sleeved number and a simple fleece coat. But seriously, it’s been so chilly in the afternoons around here, I nearly had to wear my coat AGAIN after work !

    I’m ready for Spring.

     
  2. Peter Damien

    January 28, 2010 at 11:33 am

    *adds Kristine to Spring hitlist…*

     

Leave a Reply

 
