RSS

Overtaken

19 Feb

This has happened three times now, to three different projects. I’ll be working ponderously on something an article/story/novel/whatever (usually article), and then someone will publish an article close enough that I’d just be re-hashing.

Mostly, I don’t mind. It’s my own silly fault. If I turned out the piece faster, I’d have beaten them to it. But if I’m slogging through something, then it’s gonna happen. I groan slightly, and that’s about as far as the angst goes.

I’d been working on an article for SF Signal for something like a month now. It was raelly hard going. It’s already 3,000 words long and I was having trouble rounding out the second half (because I walked away from it for too long to do school/home stuff).

And then Airlock Alpha’s Adaption Addict covers more or less the territory I would have done. Not quite, but close enough that I don’t see where I need to say it further.

So this is a post to say 1) ah well and 2) Go read their article, it’s terrific and smart and I agree with it.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Overtaken

  1. MisterBastard

    February 20, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Ya know, it’s not like there’s only one place to sell or post an article on that subject. Persistence pays.

     
  2. Peter Damien

    February 20, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    THAT article was posted on Airlock Alpha. Mine would have been on SF Signal. So they would’ve been in different places anyway.

    That article just said what I was going to say close enough that I don’t need to say it, you know? Sometimes I read things that approach the same territory, but don’t quite say what I’m going to say. So then I say my thing.

    If that makes ANY sense.

     
  3. MisterBastard

    February 21, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Pete said “That article just said what I was going to say close enough that I don’t need to say it, you know?”

    The point is even if the content seems to run close parallel to another article, your POV is still told in your own unique voice. You all ready know that makes quite a difference.

    For instance, here’s an idiot who seems to opine that PJ is an HP rip-off:
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/reviews/article-1250341/Percy-Jackson-And-The-Lightning-Thief-review-Harry-Potter-clone-demi-god-awful.html

    The real crime there is the black-and-white take on two different stories. Writers know there are no original ideas –only bastardizations of ideas that have been done before are left to be blended in that gray area. And borrowing ideas is okay. Just don’t borrow mine. :tongue:

    The standard in the current situation will continue to be the PJ vs. HP parallel. Everyone gets that. If you hadn’t pointed to the quad-A article I never would have noticed it. People are creatures of habit. Many will read SF Signal because it’s their go-to site.

    Come on. Toss your readers a bone.

     
  4. Peter Damien

    February 21, 2010 at 9:47 am

    The person writing that article you just linked to is particularly stupid. Sheesh. What happened to the normally high standards and journalistic integrity that I expect from the Daily Mail?

    Oh right.

    And I wasn’t really looking to be convinced into anything but what the hell, you did it anyway. So I guess that article will be what I polish’n’post this weekend.

    You’re not much of a bastard, mister. 🙂

     
  5. MisterBastard

    February 21, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    That’s the spirit! Get those polished works out there and earn a good living with your words. Give your readers every opportunity to laugh/cry/be angry/ponder/forgive/wonder/think/smile/etc. Let them decide if your perspective is more entertaining and informative than the other guy. I believe they will.

    You’ve done all this before. You’re just too hard on yourself, at times.

    Good luck!

     

Leave a Reply

 
