RSS

Oatmeal

10 Oct

A text message I sent to Kristine yesterday (I think it was yesterday?) summarizes how I feel right now. I’ll quote it.

*opens top of head*

*stirs oatmeal*

*closes top of head*

My in-laws and my sister-in-law visited for the majority of this week. It was really nice to see them, it as really enjoyable…but it DID mean that it was peoplepeoplepeople every day, which is something I’m just not used to.

I did a wise thing and didn’t try to write this week, just happily read. I read a volume of Sandman (Fables & Reflections) and I read Maus by art Spiegelman. I’m now reading Danse Macabre by Stephen King, a really, really interesting book ABOUT horror. I needed something a little lighter and different before I read Maus II. They’re pretty hard comics to read. As brutal a look at the Holocaust, in many ways, as Elie Wiesel’s Night.

My reading stack is towering. It also includes:

Walt Disney, the triumph of the American imagination by Neal Gabler (seriously thick biography, and it looks very interesting. And, by having it around, I learnt that my father-in-law Sternly Disapproves Of Walt Disney, because he was a draft dodger.)

– The Devil in the White City: murder, magic and madness at the fair that changed America by Erik Larson. (I’ve wanted to read it since it came out, and am just getting to it).

Maus II by art spiegelman (as I already mentioned. They’re stories of Art’s father, who went through concentration camps, and also the story of art and his relationship with his father. Brilliant, and brutal, and heartbreaking and hard.)

– Sahara by Michael Palin (it’s hard to find Michael Palin’s travel books, at least around here. I’m really excited for this. I think his travel work is perhaps superior to his Monty Python work. Yeah, I said it.)

AND I’m still reading Carrion Comfort by Dan Simmons, and I was reading the Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway until life got too busy and I forgot. AND I’m reading one more book, which might be seriously the most amazing brain-changing book I’ve ever read, and I’m not going to tell you what it is, because I’m giving a copy or two of it for Christmas, so shall keep mum.

Writing wise:

The Man Upstairs (a novel, for which I made notes as the week progressed. They were good notes, and I fixed problems I didn’t know I had, and gave the novel legs. I can’t wait to really get rolling on it.

Mindwire (working title) (this is a novella which will be the next in the series after Kristine’s The Legend of Darkness and Light . The problem I’m having with it is…I’m not writing SF these days, and it’s hard to get into. If you’d told 12-year-old me that that would ever happen, he would have laughed at you.)

Usher III (my modernized retelling of The Fall of the House of Usher, done in lieu of a final test in my Horror Cinema class, and which I’ll sell at some point. I gotta get rolling on that. It won’t be called “Usher III,” that’s just what I’m putting on the blog. I have a title for it. And why Usher III? Well, there was Usher by Poe, and then Usher II by Ray Bradbury. So I’m obviously next in line after those two.) (of course, I’m kidding)

And I’ve got to get my edits worked out in “Keepers” and get that sent off to Glimmer Train before I manage to miss the reading period and arse it all up.

And somewhere in there, I want to spend time with my wife and kids.

So. If I’m somewhat useless and scattershot for the next two or three weeks, or completely GONE…that’s why. It’s all good stuff, but put altogether like that, it’s a huge load that’s impending on top of me, and I need to clear it out. Which may be tricky, since did I mention my brain is oatmeal?

Ah well.

Love & Tropical Rooibos

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
