RSS

What I Read in High School

15 Dec

This evening, my mother arrived with huge bags full of papers. Pounds and pounds of papers. It’s all my school work…stuff…from pre-first grade, on through high school. A huge volume of stuff she no longer wanted to have cluttering up a closet. I dunno what I’ll do with it either. Rifling through it, I found some photos of me from when I was pretty young, living on Saint Croix the first time. I might put a couple of them up.

I don’t talk about my schooling much, because I was homeschooled. I have very strong…opinions, I guess, on the topic, and don’t care to discuss it.

But I thought it would be interesting to type up this list I found, which was my high school reading list. High school for me was about two and a half, three years, and then I graduated.

I won’t say much more than that because 1) discomfort, I haz it and 2) seriously, the blog would descend into a morass of emo that none of us would ever pull ourselves out from and THEN where would the world be? Exactly. in EMOVILLE.

This is the list of what I read for high school.

THE ILIAD (Homer)

THE ODYSSEY (Homer)

DON QUIXOTE (Cervantes)

JULIUS CAESAR (Shakespeare)

MOBY DICK (Melville)

20,000 LEAGUES UNDER THE SEA (Verne)

A CONNECTICUT YANKEE AT KING ARTHUR’S COURT (Twain)

DR. JEKYLL & MR. HYDE (Stevenson)

THE TIME MACHINE (Wells)

WAR OF THE WORLDS (Wells)

A CHRISTMAS CAROL (Dickens)

A CANTICLE FOR LEIBOWITZ (Miller)

BEN HUR (Wallace)

OF MICE AND MEN (Steinbeck)

UNCLE TOM’S CABIN (Stowe)

FRANKENSTEIN (Shelley)

HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME (Hugo)

ROBINSON CRUSOE (Defoe)

GRAPES OF WRATH (Steinbeck)

OUR TOWN (Wilder)

COLLECTED WORKS (Poe)

MEMOIRS OF THE SECOND WORLD WAR (Winston Churchill)

BRAVE NEW WORLD (Huxley)

1984 (Orwell)

PRINCE & THE PAUPER (Twain)

THE THREE MUSKETEERS (Dumas)

There we go. I was actually intending to talk about it all, but it turns out I’m not. Who’d of thought I’d turn out to be shy talking on a subject related to BOOKS anytime soon?

Love & Mango tea

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
