RSS

“Now I’m not a racist or anything but…”

21 Dec

“[insert snide, ignorant, appallingly racist remark.]”

If I had a dollar for every time I heard that, more or less, I’d be wealthy enough to walk around with a baseball bat, smacking people in the head and then pay off my bail.

Ignorant racist remarks drive me nuts. I don’t care who they’re about. Whether it’s against Muslims, Arabs, Jews, or the Minnesota-particulars, the Somalians and the Haitians (because we have a huge community of Somali immigrants in Minnesota and of course, dontcherknow, they’re just over here lazing about not learning our language not working can’t drive they don’t smell like proper Minnesotans do, etc. The nice people saying these things never consider that, hm, possibly why they don’t “go back where they came from” is they aren’t immigrants, they’re refugees.)

I have a second sore spot for racism against Haitians, because it’s huge, blatant, accepted, and really not noticed. It puts me up the wall, the portrayal of Voodoo in pop culture. Then again, it’s rarely on purpose, and I think intent is as important as action.

(I’m about to try and say everything I think and am infuriated about in the next comic I hope to write, which has a cranky old Voodun priestess in it.)

All of this cranky ranting is brought on by a really wonderful article over at Cranked. Where they are not only funny, they’re frequently razor-sharp.

5 Ridiculous Things You Probably Believe About Islam

Go read. It’s a wonderful article.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to ““Now I’m not a racist or anything but…”

  1. Melanie

    December 21, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    Anything that has to be qualified like that probably shouldn’t be said in the first place (referring to the title). That kind of crap drives me bonkers.

     
  2. Peter Damien

    December 21, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Or it’s popular variant, “Now I don’t want to sound racist or anything, but…”

    Then don’t say it. Take the thirty seconds you were going to use to say a stupid thing and turn your brain and on and say “they are probably people more or less exactly like me. Does the stupid thing I was about to say in any way apply to me? No? Probably it doesn’t apply to them.”

    *grumbles*

     
  3. Mark Reep

    December 22, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Entirely off-topic, sorry- Found your blog looking for the author of ‘King of High Places’. Great story, looking forward to reading more of your work.

     
  4. Peter Damien

    December 22, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    Ah, thanks man. That’s the best sort of off-topic there is. 🙂 Plenty of other stuff written and out there, but not published yet. I’ll try to at least mention it here when it’s published, so it’s findable. (I always forget.)

     
  5. Shadow Ferret

    December 23, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    Ha. I read Somalians as Sumerians and was curious if there was a large contingent of them in Minnesota.

     

Leave a Reply

 
