RSS

Pineapple Upside Down Cake

25 Dec

A long time ago, in the early days of Men, the Elves forged rings of power. Nine of…

…no sorry.

A long time ago, when I was a kid, every year for my birthday, my mom would make a pineapple upside-down cake. This is because I love pineapple upside-down cake a lot.

On the whole, I don’t get it anymore, for no particular reason. Today, my sister made one (belatedly for my birthday). I haven’t had one in years and wondered if I’d still like it.

I do. Oh yes.  It was pretty fantastic.

A Christmas wish sent to me had a spelling auto-correct problem. Someone wished me a Prosperous New Year, and somehow it got switched to Preposterous New Year. I liked that a lot. So I wish you all 2011s that are preposterous, hopefully in good ways.

I like listening books, so I’m going to list the books I got for Christmas. I got other things (a new fountain pen! it’s lovely! and ink!) (and TEA! I didn’t even know there WAS such a thing as an Earl Grey White tea) (after fighting a Balrog, Earl Grey returns later as Earl Grey White)

Ahem. Books.

Guns, Germs, and Steel – Jared Diamond

Haunted Legends – short story anthology edited by Ellen Datlow and Nick Mamatas

The Gun Seller – Hugh Laurie

He Is Legend – short story anthology edited by Christopher Conlon

Best New Horror 15 – edited by Stephen Jones

A Century of Horror, 1970-1979 – edited by David Drake

The Authoritative Calvin and Hobbes – Bill Watterson

The Indispensable Calvin and Hobbes – Bill Watterson

Dracula – Bram Stoker (I already own a couple copies, but this one is a gorgeous edition)

Sandman: The Kindly Ones – Neil Gaiman

I’m probably forgetting something, but that sounds right enough. Other lovely things that arrived in the house were a trio of Neil Gaiman-written kids books, Doctor Who series 5, Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood, Brutal Legend, and stuff stuff stuff.

And now I’m going to go be exhausted, but happy, and have a cuppa tea.

Oh, the cup of tea will be had in a scarily heavy mug from Anthropologie which has a big letter P on it and is lovely. My sister got me that, with a bag of loose leaf Earl Grey White inside. So yes.

Right.

May you have a preposterous new year.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
